Tenderflake Makes Making Pies Easy (with Easy Pie)!

As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve realized over the couple of years that I love cooking much more than I thought I did, but I know I’ve never mentioned that I’ve always been passionate about baking. Though I don’t do it very often, I learned how to bake at an early age. From muffins and scones to cookies and cakes, if it’s baked and tasty then I’ve probably made it (or tried to at least!).

The one thing I’ve never mastered, however, is making pies. While my mom tried to teach me how to make a great pie crust, I’ve found I’m just too heavy-handed to make a great crust and my ideas of how to make a filling never seemed to work out either.
Then I thought about Tenderflake’s Easy Pie. Hmmm….Easy Pie….Pie Made Easy? I definitely wanted to see if they were what I needed to make a great pie!

With Little One’s birthday coming up (and she loves pie!), I decided to try out the Easy Pie to see if I would be able to make them for her. Because there are two different types of pies (Double Crust and Crumble Topping), I decided to try my hand at both of them!

My brother volunteered to try the pies and share his thoughts (isn’t it nice that he was willing to test drive a pie for me? Like Little One, he is a bit pie-obsessed!). I asked him what type of pie would he like – apple, blueberry or strawberry? His answer – why not one of each? (I told you he is pie-obsessed!). We finally agreed that I’d make a Double-Crust Apple pie, a Crumble Topping Blueberry-Strawberry Pie and, just for fun, I decided to make a Crumble Topping Apple Pie as well.

And I have to tell you – Tenderflake’s Easy Pie lives up to its name! To make each type of pie, all I had to do was put the fruit in a bowl and add the Spice Mix. The mix made an amazing filling when mixed with the fruit. For the Crumble Topping, all I had to do was mix the topping with some softened butter (or margarine) and mix it together. After putting the fruit in the shell, I then either added the topping (for the Crumble Topping pie) or added the second crust and cut vents into the crust (for the Double-Crust pie).

Ready to Bake

Some time in the oven and they were ready to eat!

Double Crust Apple Pie (fresh from the oven)

I appreciated how easy these pies were to make! I didn’t have to make my own filling, I didn’t have to pre-cook the pie shell and I didn’t have to make any crumble for the topping.

And the response from my pie-eaters? My brother loved the pies he got and he even made me tell his wife where should buy them!

I overfilled this pie but my brother didn’t mind!

(I had to point out to him that I’d overfilled the Blueberry-Strawberry Pie but he told me, no kidding, “There’s no such thing as too much filling in a pie!”). I gave the Crumble-Topping Apple Pie to Grown-up Girl and she told me it was “totally yummy”!

I’m planning on another late-night bakefest when the girls are asleep so I can surprise Little One with her very own pie! I think she is going to love it (especially since she won’t even have to share as I plan to make a few different ones for everyone to enjoy!).

This entry was posted in Family fun, Food, Recipes, Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tenderflake Makes Making Pies Easy (with Easy Pie)!

  1. Anne Taylor says:

    I love this product! I’ve purchased it a few times to make pies with my grandkids! Its a great way to introduce little ones to baking!

  2. Elva Roberts says:

    August 29-Making pies with Tenderflake sounds “easy as pie.’–I am determined to search it out on my grocery shopping trip this week and try one of them out. They certainly sound easy (and deliciious) from your post. I will give it a ‘go!’-el03ro

  3. Soozle says:

    I have heard so much about this product – but haven’t tried it YET. Definitely on my shopping list – thanks for sharing! 🙂

  4. Lisa G says:

    So true, it does help when I’m very busy and I want to look like the SuperMom who pleases the family

  5. Sarah p says:

    I have one in my freezer right now…Going to make a chicken pot pie 🙂 Used the other to make a blueberry pie, so yummy! Saves a bunch of time

  6. Elizabeth Matthiesen says:

    I’ve not tried these from Tenderflake but I do use their puff pastry fairly often – I have never succeeded in making that right 😦

Leave a Reply

