Experimental again with Braised Cabbage with Bacon, Pears & Pecans (Recipe) #MoodieFoodie

For the past couple of weeks I’ve been using the Moodie Foodie app from Sobeys to expand my culinary horizons, test out new flavour combinations and add more vegetables into my diet!

Since I was still feeling Experimental, I decided to head back to the Moodie Foodie app and see if I could find something that tickled my fancy! And what did I find? A recipe that sounded like it combined the best of both worlds – vegetables and fruits and BACON (you all know how much I like bacon)!

Braised Cabbage with Bacon, Pears & Pecans
-from the Moodie Foodie app

Ingredients


1 tbsp. olive oil
4 slices bacon, cut into 1/4 inch pieces
1 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 head red cabbage, thinly sliced
1/3 cup Compliments Red Wine Vinegar
1 green pear, cored, quartered and sliced into 1 inch pieces
1 tsp. caraway seeds
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper
1/2 cup Compliments Pecan Pieces

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add bacon and fry until crisp, remove with a slotted spoon and reserve on a paper towel.
  • Add onion and saute 3 to 5 minutes, then add garlic and cabbage. Cook 3 to 5 minutes, then add vinegar, pear and caraway seeds. Transfer to a 9×13 inch baking dish and bake for 30 minutes or until cabbage is just soft.
  • Remove from oven and stir in salt and pepper. Top with cooked bacon and pecans, and serve.

Tasty! I love that I’m getting so many servings of fruits and vegetables at once! The pecans add some protein and the bacon adds an amazing smoky flavour while the Compliments Red Wine Vinegar adds a real tang!

Don’t forget to to try out the Moodie Foodie app from Sobeys and enter for a chance to win a $50 Sobeys gift card. This app is awesome – you won’t be disappointed!

This entry was posted in Food, Photography, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Experimental again with Braised Cabbage with Bacon, Pears & Pecans (Recipe) #MoodieFoodie

  1. Anne Taylor says:

    You had me at Cabbage and Bacon lol This sounds delicious!! Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Cabbage Chutney | Bowie Texas

  3. Jennifer Abbott says:

    That is a drooling combination bacon and cabbage yummy. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

  4. sarah p says:

    We are definitely working this recipe into our meal plan this week after receiving our free bacon coupon in the mail today 🙂

  5. Dreena says:

    This recipe sounds very good. I do like the combo of ingredients going on here.
    Thanks.

  6. Elizabeth Matthiesen says:

    I always add apples to my red cabbage (or apple mousse if I have any). It makes red cabbage taste so much better. I’d never thought of adding bacon, so I’ll try that next time too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

