11th annual Ride for Karen fundraising cycling event benefiting kids

When I was asked if I would post about Ride for Karen, and I learned what it was about, I knew there was no way I could NOT write about it!

Ride for Karen is an annual cycling event that has raised more than $1.6 million to help send children with cancer to camp. It was started by two brothers in 2002 as a tribute to their mom Karen Tobias, who passed away from breast cancer, to continue her work in harnessing the positive power of hope.

Having had a number of aunts battle breast cancer, and another aunt who died of cancer, I think it is an amazingly brilliant idea because it helps so many people!

On Sunday, September 9th, cyclists from across Ontario will begin the ride in Vaughan, Ontario and cycle through the countryside north of Toronto. This fully-supported, cycling event features a popular Kid’s Fun Ride (for ages 2 to 12) and will be held in an enclosed and safe area beside the start / finish section of the ride. The goal is for children to obtain sponsorship per lap they ride and to challenge themselves to ride at least their age in laps. For parents and older kids, there are also 25km, 100km and 160km rides.

While I won’t be riding (I live too far from Toronto and I can’t imagine trying to do 25km – kudos to those who do that and more!), I will be donating.

For more information, to donate, or to register to ride, please visit www.rideforkaren.com

This entry was posted in inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 11th annual Ride for Karen fundraising cycling event benefiting kids

  1. Anne Taylor says:

    This is brilliant! It amazes me what people can do for others! Thankyou for this post!

  2. Elva Roberts says:

    September 1-I don’t think I have heard about this ride for Karen., i live on the East coast and we have our own walks, runs and fundraisers for Cancer. I think it is wonderful that you are giving this Ride for Karen this space to inform those of us who do not know about it. I have had two half-sisters die of cancer and my husband lost his father to cancer. Like most families, we have experienced the loss of loved ones to this disease which seems to strike indiscriminately where it will. I hope the Ride for Susan is a great success. el03ro

Leave a Reply

