New Balance Lace Up for the Cure Collection 860 Running Shoes

As I mentioned this summer, I really wanted to start the Couch to 5K program but I got sidetracked by some pain that developed in my feet — both feet tended to ache but my left foot had a lot of pain. I learned from a friend that I probably had overpronation. After I said, “Hunh? What’s that?” I learned that it meant that I roll my feet inward when I walk and run which can led to inner foot pain. So, while I was able to wear my running shoes without pain, for running I’d need a shoe with more support.

When I saw the New Balance Lace Up for the Cure Collection, I thought it would be a great way to get the support that I needed and support a cause dear to my heart at the same time! I’ve had 3 aunts who have all battled breast cancer so I know how important the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation is!

I was impressed when I found out that this year marks the 10th year that New Balance Canada has supported the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation through their Lace Up for the Cure collection 860 running shoe. 15% of net proceeds (with a minimum of $25,000 and maximum of $40,000) will be donated to the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation and since New Balance Canada started the Lace Up for the Cure, the program has raised over $230,000 for Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation! I think it is great that New Balance Canada has taken the initiative to give back! They also provide support in other ways — they sponsor the CIBC Run of the Cure as well as Running Room Survivor Clinics where breast cancer where survivors can train for the 5k run or walk as well as engaging in a fitness program aimed at helping in their recovery, while working with coaches who understand the challenges survivors face post-treatment.

You can definitely spot the Lace Up for the Cure collection because the New Balance 860 features the unique Breast Cancer Foundation ribbon and is based on the 860v2 running shoe released earlier in 2012. It is built with both N-ergy and ABZORB cushioning, providing enhanced heel and forefoot shock absorption and a medial-post that is designed for pronation control.

I’ve been astounded at how much of a difference these shoes have made to me! I can feel the support on my feet because of the cushioning and, thanks to the medial-post, when I’m walking (I’ve also tentatively started doing some running), I have NO PAIN! I can literally walk for hours in all types of terrain and my feet feel great.

To say that I’m impressed with the New Balance Lace Up for the Cure collection 860 running shoes would be a colossal understatement. They’ve literally made a huge difference in my life and, with their support of the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation, they are helping millions of Canadian women as well!

The latest Lace Up for the Cure 860 model running shoes will be available at select retailers including the Running Room and New Balance stores nationwide at a suggested retail price of $139.95.

This entry was posted in inspiration, Life Changes, Media, Review, Technology, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Balance Lace Up for the Cure Collection 860 Running Shoes

  1. These would be great for my mom. She’s always on her feet.

  2. Elva Roberts says:

    September 2- This sounds like a great shoe for anyone who has foot problems, is on their feet a lot and also anyone who is training for this race or any other race.
    I am not surprised that New Balance is sponsoring this ‘Lace up for the Cure Collection.’- I have been reading about this company while entering a giveaway. They seem like an amazing company that has a lot of integrity and compassion for their customers. I am not surprised that they are ‘giving back’ to the community in this and other ways.-el03ro

  3. I’ve been looking for a new pair of running shoes since mine haven’t been hurting my feet. I will definitely keep these mind since they support the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation. I also love the colour!

  4. Anne Taylor says:

    I’ll be checking this shoe out. I always have trouble finding a shoe that supports my feet the way I need it too. Thanks for this glowing review!

  5. Pingback: New Balance Gives Me Wind Beneath My Feet! | My Little Review Corner

Leave a Reply

