Swiss Chalet Gives Options for the Whole Family – Starting Strong Monday

This week brought some challenges for me! I always find, as the weather changes, that I get sick (so much so, in fact, that one of my bosses when I was a teen used to say he could tell the seasons were changing because I would be sick!). Whatever hit me this week it was really odd – I was just incredibly tired and found myself sleeping a lot (I generally only have about 7 hours of sleep and I was sleeping 8 to 10 hours a night!) and waking up tired! While I’m happy to say that I’m feeling better, my exercise routine really suffered. I was afraid to face the scales, but I’m happy to say that thanks to clean eating I lost another 1.2 pounds!

One way that I was able to eat healthy was by visiting Swiss Chalet with the family this week!

As I mentioned, I was sick and didn’t have a lot of energy, which made cooking a real challenge. At the same time, I wanted to make sure I was eating healthy and that everyone was going to be able to enjoy a meal (and we could enjoy our time together). For all those reasons, Swiss Chalet seemed like the logical choice!

I’ve been going to Swiss Chalet since I was a kid. Long before we ever had a Swiss Chalet in our town, I remember try Swiss Chalet for the first time on a visit to a friend who had moved out of town. I’ve always enjoyed chicken, but I remember thinking that it was better than the chicken my mom made (sorry Mom!). When Swiss Chalet came to our town a few years later, it became a place where we would celebrate birthdays as well as simply enjoying a meal together. Some things never change and it is still a family destination because the girls like it too!

The girls really like that they have their own menu to choose from! At Swiss Chalet, the Kids’ Menu has a lot of different entree options (from Cheesy Pizza to Chicken to Mini Burgers), a variety of sides, as well as a choice of drink and a choice of dessert! The girls like being able to choose their own meals and I appreciate the fact that their meals include all the items they will want at one low price!

As well as having a great Kids’ Menu and a variety of chicken and rib options that Swiss Chalet are famous for, I checked out the Swiss Chalet Nutrition page to see what menu choices would fulfill my dietary needs. I was impressed to learn that there were a number of Health Check menu items as well as a complete dietary breakdown of anything else I might want to order. I felt really informed and knew I could make the right choice – something I’m not always confident about when going out to eat (and a source of frustration for me).

When we arrived at Swiss Chalet, we received a friendly greeting and were seated quickly. We placed our order and, while we waited, the girls were able to colour and do puzzles as they received crayons from the waitress and the back of the menu has some great activities to keep them occupied until their meals arrived!

The girls were thrilled with their Shirley Temples and they liked the orange slices and cherries that came with their drinks!

Once our meals arrived, we were able to try a variety of items and each of us had something that we wanted! While Miss Eight had Cheesy Pizza and Caesar Salad, Little One choose the Chicken Fingers and Seasoned Rice. Our meals were Chicken on a Kaiser with mashed potatoes and gravy, while I had the Health Check Quarter Chicken Dinner with an extra side of vegetables.

And the taste? Everyone enjoyed their meals – the chicken was moist and flavourful, the vegetables were also fresh (as some of you know, I don’t like cauliflower but that was my fault for not asking what vegetables were included in the medley – I just pushed them aside and enjoyed the rest of my vegetables!). The girls liked their entrees and sides and both were excited to have a choice of dessert as well!

While I’ve always been a fan, I have an even greater appreciation of Swiss Chalet since our visit. I know that there are healthy meal options for me, kids’ meals that the girls love and that we can spend some time together and enjoy one another while also getting meals that match our individual tastes!

I know the next time we are planning a family meal, Swiss Chalet will be one of our first choices. Whether eating in the restaurant or ordering online, we can’t go wrong if we choose Swiss Chalet!

This entry was posted in Family fun, Food, Life Changes, Review, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Swiss Chalet Gives Options for the Whole Family – Starting Strong Monday

  1. Elva Roberts says:

    September 24-Kudos to you for losing weight and to Swiss Chalet for having a Nutrition Page where you could choose healthy options, and the breakdown of the food choices would allow your to know exactly how the choiced would affect your food plan,. We do not have a Swiss Chalet in our town but there is one about an hour away in our capital city. When eating there, I will take advantage of their nutrition page as well due to your information. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  2. Anne Taylor says:

    Omgosh everything looks so good! Good for you for getting extra veggies!

  3. Heather says:

    I absolutely LOVE Swiss Chalet, and now you made me crave it so bad! I think that I know what we are having for dinner tonight! lol 🙂

    Hugs,
    Heather

  4. Mag says:

    I haven’t been there for a long time. Probably time for a visit.

  5. Elizabeth Matthiesen says:

    I think it’s great news that Swiss Chalet have a Nutrition Page where you can choose healthy options. It’s not only important for people who want to eat healthy but also for all those who have allergies. I think that every restaurant should have a Nutrition Page.

Leave a Reply

