Giving Thanks – Starting Strong Monday

It’s Thanksgiving and I stepped on the scale to discover that I had gained 1.4 pounds last week. While I can sit and talk about all of the reasons, I am giving thanks today and not whining or moaning about the weight gain.

Thanksgiving at the Trolls

Thanksgiving at the Trolls (Photo credit: martha_chapa95)

Today I am thankful for:

  • My family – they are caring and supportive. They accept my flaws and take me for who I am. I love them more deeply than I can ever put into words;
  • My friends – they are a small but mighty group of people. Like my family, most have known me for years and they also accept me. They make me laugh when I’m frustrated and, even when I don’t see or talk to them for awhile, I know that they care;
  • My health – I’ve been plagued recently by some physical challenges but, in the larger schema of the world, I am really healthy and for that I am blessed; and
  • My new found ability to reflect – when I find myself hitting a wall and gaining weight, I no longer see it as an excuse to give up. Instead, I examine what I’m doing, realize what I need to correct and then keep on going. That is a huge change for me and for that I feel really blessed!

(I’m also thankful for the new television season but I thought that might be tacky to add — oops…I guess I did just add it!)

Seriously, in life it can become easy to get dragged down by the little things in daily life. Frustrations at work and irritations of daily life can become a focus if I let it (and I don’t think I’m alone). On days like today, with my family around me, I realize how truly blessed I am.

Happy Thanksgiving to you all (and yes, despite the weight gain I’m still enjoying an amazing meal with my family!)

This entry was posted in inspiration, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Giving Thanks – Starting Strong Monday

  1. Elva Roberts says:

    October 8-Yes; today is a day to give thanks for all that we have and hold dear to us. Thank you for reminding us of this as we tend to gloss it over in the ‘business’ of life. You are still trying and we admire you for that and profit from your example. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  2. Dreena says:

    Happy Thanksgiving. It is important to remember how blessed we are.
    Cheers.

  3. Mag says:

    Good list of things to be truly thankful for.

Leave a Reply

