Creative Places to Shop for #Gifts (at great prices!)

I know I’ve mentioned before that I appreciate a good deal and, like many people, I find that the upcoming holidays, while an amazing time with family and friends, can also take a huge chunk out a budget!

So what can you do to give your family and friends fun gifts at a fraction of the price? Throughout my Gift Guide, I plan on sharing some creative ideas about where to shop for gifts!

Today I want to talk about Dollar Stores!

While some people may be laughing because they don’t think shopping at Dollar Stores is very creative, I know that for others, like me, it isn’t the first place I’d think to go to buy a gift! I generally don’t get to the Dollar Stores in our town very often and, if I do, I pop in for specific items and then head out again. The reason I often don’t browse in Dollar Stores is that I tend to remember the days when shopping in these stores meant getting lower quality, knock-off items rather than brand names.

Last weekend, however, I went in and actually went through a couple of our local stores and I was amazed at what you can get for a dollar or two in these stores and the quality of these items as well! I actually picked up some small gifts and they cost me a fraction of the price they would have been if I’d bought them anywhere else!

Here are some examples of the things that I saw:

So, if you are like me and hadn’t thought of doing some shopping at the Dollar Stores, I would suggest you reconsider as there are great gifts (and deals) to be had there!

This entry was posted in 2011 Holiday Gift Guide, clothing, Fashion, Home and Appliances, Savings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Creative Places to Shop for #Gifts (at great prices!)

  1. Soozle says:

    Very true! I personally buy glass spice jar containers at the dollar store near me and go to Bulk Barn for spices – very inexpensive & the spices are waaaay fresher than the prepackaged containers in store!

  2. Elva Roberts says:

    November 2-I, too, was an infrequent visitor to the dolllar stores. Then I realized that I could get beautiful Christmas, Birthday and Gift Bags there for four or five dollars less than other stores and the bags were similar. I also found the photo frames at the dollar store were very inexpensive, but didn’t look it. I began buying photo frames there. I am more of a regular visitor there and am discovering lots of good surprises there. Elva Roberts
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  3. nicolthepickle says:

    I agree 100% . I don’t often go to our local dollar store because its out of the way, but I went last week and was so impressed by what they had to offer. Especially craft supplies (some as nice as Michaels for way less $’s), and kitchen items.
    I was going in search of a sharpener for an eyeliner pencil that I love. but I didn’t want to pay the $7 it costs at a drugstore. I found 5 for a dollar. So what if they’re less good quality. How often do I sharpen it?

  4. nenasinclair says:

    I love dollar stores, it’s amazing what you can find there! I buy a lot of stocking stuffers and small gifts at dollar stores, gotta love them!

  5. Mag says:

    I recently went to a Dollar store that’s much bigger than the one I usually go to. They sell everything there.

  6. Anne Taylor says:

    I love browsing different dollar stores! My most recent find was a dryer ball that works just as well as the expensive ones!

  7. Amy Heffernan says:

    Great ideas. TY!

  8. BobbiJo Pentney says:

    Thanks for the great almost last minute ideas.

Leave a Reply

