Lap Desks Make Life Easier! #Christmas #Gift


When I was in university, one of my favourite items was my lap desk. Even in the days before laptops and netbooks (I didn’t even know what a laptop was in 1990!), I used my lap desk all of the time. I loved being able to sit in the livingroom, making notes for my classes while watching tv at the same time (I always laugh when people say that “teenagers today” do too much at the same time because I was exactly the same way when I was a teenager!).

Today, with the advances in technology, having a lap desk can make life so much easier! While I now enjoy sitting and using my netbook while watching tv (I still like to multi-task!), I’ve found it is important to get a lap desk that will allow me to sit comfortably without straining my back and neck while simultaneously ensuring I’m not overheating my netbook.

I also know that Grownup Girl has been on the hunt for a lap desk that meets the same criteria. My mom gave her a lap desk a few years ago but my girl says that isn’t very comfortable to use with her laptop. So I’ve been trying to find a lap desk for her as well.

Enter Lap Gear, a one-stop company for an amazing number of lap desks to meet the needs of many different people! Based in Texas, this company has, in my mind, revolutionized the lap desk industry because they have designed a diverse group of products that all provide lap desk comfort and support. From a Techno series that provides options for notebooks, tablets and netbooks to the Lap Desk Platinum Series 500.
I think that the Lap Desk Platinum Series 500 will be a perfect accessory for Grownup Girl to use with her laptop because it has some great elements, including:

  • a thick padded airmesh base to provide comfort when sitting with it (I tried it out and almost decided to keep it for myself because it is some comfy!);
  • a really smooth top for writing and drawing when she using her lap desk “old school” (aka how I used to use mine in the pre-laptop days);
  • a concave design for snug fit while in use (no lap desk top to poke you when you are using it – a huge improvement over the one I had in university!); and
  • a carrying handle for easy transport.


I know she’s going to be excited when she sees her Lap Desk Platinum Series 500 and I think it is going to be a great addition when she wants to sit and get cozy in her room while working!

For more information about Lap Gear products, check out their website.

This entry was posted in 2012 Holiday Gift Guide, Home and Appliances, Review, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lap Desks Make Life Easier! #Christmas #Gift

  1. nicolthepickle says:

    This looks like such a good idea. I’d one for when I want to use my laptop and stay nice and comfy on the couch.

  2. Soozle says:

    Very cool – indeed! I could see using it not only for a laptop – but even crafting, etc

  3. Jackie says:

    This is a great idea! My daughter always sits on her bed with her laptop on her lap.

  4. These are great! My kids are getting laptops for Christmas and it would be perfect for them to use.

  5. I love that site. I believe I just found some gift ideas… thank you. I love the array of products they have.

  6. Elva Roberts says:

    November 5–You are right in saying this Lapdesk would be a perfect gift for anyone with a laptop. Lapgear seems to have all the bases covered. Thank you for telling us about this company. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  7. Mag says:

    This is a great idea!

  8. Pingback: Win Your Own Lap Desk! #Christmas #Gifts | Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger

  9. Lori says:

    My lap desk has worn out. This would be a beautiful replacement.

  10. Anne Taylor says:

    This is very cool and I need one badly!

Leave a Reply

