Looneyspoons Collection – Tasty (and Healthy!) Recipes with a Side Order of Humour!

I know I am not the only person on the planet who is trying to eat healthier — in fact, I know, from the things that you have told me, that many of you are trying to do the exact same thing.

What tends to frustrate me, though, is the fact that when I “cook healthy” I find that it often means I “cook bland” or “cook boring”. I’m selfish that way as I want it ALL — healthy meals that are easy to make but also taste great. Am I asking too much?

When I originally lost weight in my late 20s, one of the tools I used was a book by Janet and Greta Podleski called Looneyspoons. (And, if you are sitting there thinking, “I know those names…how do I know those names?” these sisters are quite famous and have a great cooking show called Eat Shrink & Be Merry. Does that help?)

What made Looneyspoons such a great tool was the fact that the recipes were simple to follow with ingredients that weren’t insanely difficult to find, they were healthy AND they tasted great! The other part of this cookbook was the humour — the recipe titles were often quite witty and there were sidebars in the cookbook with funny facts and thoughts. So you got some healthy cooking and laughs all at the same time!

That recipe book that I loved (and lost with!) is now back and even bigger, and better, than ever! Entitled The Looneyspoons Collection: Janet & Greta’s Greatest Recipe Hits PLUS a Whole Lot More!, this cookbook still contains the things I loved about the original Looneyspoons but it has so much more! Because the original cookbook came out in the 1990s, there have been a lot of changes in nutrition and The Looneyspoons Collection reflects that. This book also brings together the best of the original Looneyspoons and Crazy Plates (which I also owned but had completely forgotten about — sorry Greta and Janet!)

With more nutritional information, more recipes and, yes, more laughs, I’m really enjoying trying out recipes from . I’ve actually been eyeballing the Rolls Royce (gooey cinnamon rolls with some hidden fibre) as a great item to bring to our extended family’s Christmas dinner!

So whether you pick up this book for yourself, or get it for your favourite foodie, I think you’ll be happy that you did!

This entry was posted in 2012 Holiday Gift Guide, Food, Recipes, Review, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Looneyspoons Collection – Tasty (and Healthy!) Recipes with a Side Order of Humour!

  1. All I have to say is one thing ….. YUM, YUM AND YUM. Oh, that”s three. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. Soozle says:

    Im a huge Looneyspoons fan – very much agreed that their cookbooks will make a perfect gift! πŸ™‚

  3. Elva Roberts says:

    November 24-Thank you for all this information. I knew about this Looneyspoons Collection. However, I did not know these sisters had a Cooking Show. I will try to see if it is on the channels I get on my Television. ‘Eat Shrink and Be Merry’ sounds great for those of us to want to lose weight, eat healthy and also enjoy our meals. (so Important!) .el03ro
    e.m.roberts@htmail.com

  4. Anne Taylor says:

    These girls crack me up! I’ve watched them on tv and they really do great makeovers on classic dishes! This would be a fantastic book to have! Thanks

  5. Thank you so much for your kind words about our book. I’m so happy that you enjoy it. Here’s to good food, good health and good fun! Greta Podleski

  6. Lisa G says:

    Thanks for this introduction – sorry girls, I just landed from Mars but I’m glad I landed on this page!

  7. Heidi C. says:

    I have been a big fan of LooneySpoons for a long time! I really enjoy the mix of yummy recipes and good laughs in their recipe books.

  8. Elizabeth Matthiesen says:

    this sure sounds like a fun cook book with healthy recipes too. I’ll have to keep my eyes open for it. Thanks for the tip. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

