Incredibly Moving with True Holiday Spirit!

There are certain songs that will bring me to tears under any circumstances – and Cyndi Lauper’s “True Colours” is one of them.

When I saw the video of the recently-released version of “True Colours” performed by The British Paraorchestra and The Kaos Signing Choir for Deaf & Hearing Children , I found myself crying like a baby!

This rendition of the song is so touching to me because these musicians exemplify the message in the song itself. The British Paraorchestra (a brainchild of conductor Charles Hazlewood who realized that while he believed his daughter Eliza — who has cerebral palsy — had a beautiful singing voice, he had rarely seen anyone with is differently-abled in the music world) is a musical group with the vision “to create a platform for the best and most able musicians with disability to perform and excel at the highest level; to create a world stage for a whole community of gifted people whose enormous potential is currently overlooked”. The Choir is made of up children who range in age from 4-18 who are both hearing and non-hearing and, as you can see in the video below, they also incorporate signing into their music.

Both groups were able to show off their talents during the 2012 Olympic Games. The Kaos Signing Choir for Deaf & Hearing Children sang British national anthem God Save the Queen at the Opening Ceremony of the 2012 Olympics while the The British Paraorchestra performed alongside British rock band Coldplay during the closing ceremony of the Paralympic Games.

According to Wikipedia, “On 3 December 2012, coinciding with the United Nations’ International Day of Persons with Disabilities, the British Paraorchestra released a version of “True Colors” as a charity single. Accompanied by the Kaos Signing Choir for Deaf and Hearing Children and notable Britiah paralympians, the single was released to support ParalympicsGB (in preparation for the 2014 Winter Paralympics), along with the Paraorchestra and Kaos Singing Choir themselves.”

Watch the video below — I think it will touch you as well!

Given the beauty of this song, and the message behind it, I’ve already gone to download my copy from iTunes. For 99 cents, it is more than worth it (though I need to stop crying when I hear it!) and I know that the money is going to support some amazingly talented people!

Want to do something little that means a lot? Support this single – to me, it truly embraces the spirit of the holidays!

This entry was posted in 2012 Holiday Gift Guide, inspiration, Media, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Incredibly Moving with True Holiday Spirit!

  1. Hettiebuttie says:

    Thank you so much for your wonderful words, I am the mum of one of the younger singer/signers in the Kaos choir, I still cry when I see the video and I’ve seen it many times! We would love as many people as possible to download the single as the monies will go to three really worthy charities. Much love and holiday blessings xxx

  2. Anne Taylor says:

    words really can’t express the beauty can they? thank you so much for sharing!

  3. Janet W. says:

    Beautiful! So touching. I really appreciate you posting this!

  4. Elva Roberts says:

    December 12–This group and their singing really express the message of Cristmas for all of us.–“Peace on Earth towards men of Good Will..”- Who can deny the good will of these chikdren who want to be accepted by us? -Thank you for sharing with us.-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  5. Soozle says:

    Oh wow! What a beautiful video! I couldn’t help but get tears in my eyes watching it!

    Thank you so much for sharing! ♥

  6. eensm.org says:

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog?
    My website is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would
    certainly benefit from a lot of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

