Holiday Grocery Shopping Tips!

When I was a teenager, I worked in a grocery store. It was a large store that was part of a chain (and was so long ago, in fact, that I actually remember being trained on using scanners as they were put in during my time working there!).

I learned a lot of things during my time there, but the best thing I learned were some secrets around grocery shopping over the holidays! While the holidays have been shortened in some ways (we would close at 2 pm on New Year’s Eve and be closed for both
Christmas Day AND Boxing Day), some of these same principles still remain.

1) Need holiday chocolates for gifts? Wait until the last days before Christmas!
I don’t need any chocolate this year but, as I was grocery shopping last night, I noticed that many brand name boxes of chocolates were more than half off. The stores want to move as much holiday stock as they can before Christmas.

And, if you combine these deals with any chocolate-related coupons (such as the ones you can find in boxes of Carnation Hot chocolate or on various store shelves), you can score one heck of a deal!

chocolate advent calendarOne thing I couldn’t resist — I picked up some chocolate Advent calendars for the girls. At 10 cents per calendar, it was a steal and great for the kids — from their perspective, it just meant they could enjoy more chocolates at once as they raced to open up all the days from the 1st to the 22nd!

 

2) Check out the grocery store for your gift bags too!
I kicked myself that I hadn’t waited to get gift bags. At my local Sobeys store they are all on for 50 cents per bag (at least half the price of the local dollar stores!). Like chocolate, they want to move as much of their holiday stock before Christmas, which is a great benefit to you if you are willing to wait!

3) Keep an eye out for “secret sales”
Our local Zehrs store is having “midnight madness” this weekend and tonight, from 10 pm to midnight, there will be hourly specials. Last night (as I was there late), they had done the same thing and all hams for 1/2 price! If I get a chance I will be heading to the store tonight to see what is on offer!

And probably the best deal of all….

4) If you can, head to the grocery store a couple of hours before the stores close on Christmas Day and New Year’s Eve.
You will be amazed at the sales that you find! Knowing that their stores will be closed for a couple of days and will likely have limited traffic, the stores slash prices on produce, meat and baked goods.

It is amazing what you can find that is still fresh and perfect to accompany holiday meals and visits from family and friends!
I hope my holiday grocery shopping tips help you to find those last-minute deals before the big day!

This entry was posted in 2012 Holiday Gift Guide, Savings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Holiday Grocery Shopping Tips!

  1. pam says:

    If I had the energy I would go to Zehrs tonight – sounds like some deals to be found.

  2. Dreena says:

    Great tips! I’ll be sure to pick up some last-minute and on sale chocolates on the 24th.
    Thanks.

  3. I think I will head to the local store tomorrow evening to take advantage of tip number 4.

  4. Janet W. says:

    Now you’re making me want to go to the stores right before they close tonight! I hope I can find some great deals like you mentioned!

  5. Soozle says:

    Great tips! I love the half off chocolate! Last year I stocked up BIG time on Lindor chocolate at Shoppers! Happy holidays!

  6. Elva Roberts says:

    December 28-Thank you for the tips on Holiday Grocery Shopping. I will try to take advantage of these tips from now on. -el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  7. Pingback: 5 Ways to Save $50 This Month! | My Little Review Corner

Leave a Reply

