Looking Back (and Looking Forward)

I ran across a file on my computer last night where I outlined my Plans for 2012. It is funny because I don’t remember writing the post (that’s what age will do to you!) but I do remember how I was feeling last year at this time.

I was frustrated with myself.

I felt like I had goals I wanted to achieve but they were impossible.

I knew I was my own worst enemy.

Now I’m interested to see how I have done and look at where I want to go in 2013.

Today I’m going to focus on looking back.

Before 2012, I fe;t like I was sitting on the sidelines letting life pass me by.

Before 2012, I fe;t like I was sitting on the sidelines letting life pass me by.

My goals in 2012 were to:

1. Stop being my own worst enemy.
I’ve realized that I can still be my own worst enemy but I’ve taken many steps to curb my negative behaviours and ways of dealing with issues. I’ve spent some time talking to my doctor (who is a great guy now that I’ve actually gotten to know him!) and we’ve worked together to plan some strategies to help me in this area. Though I’m far from perfect and still have work to do (like how my fears/stress/worries follow a specific yearly cycle – how weird is that?) I have taken a number of positive steps.

2. Become healthier by exercising more and losing a substantial amount of weight.
A year ago I felt like I had an impossible mountain to climb. One year later, I am almost 50 pounds lighter and well in step to achieving my goal (which I’ve slated for the end of June).

Fruit has become part of my daily life now!

Fruit has become part of my daily life now!

I’ve also learned that life involves balance. While I’m not hitting any Biggest Loser-type targets each week, I’m actually developing a healthier lifestyle as a whole. I still have weeks where I slide back into my old way of doing things (Christmas holidays have been one big example!), but I’ve also realized that there is a time and place to enjoy without going into crazy overkill mode!

3. Developing and cooking healthy recipes and no more fast food!
I’ve cut down on my takeout meals drastically to the point that I can’t even remember the last time I ate fast food!

I’m still working on developing my cooking skills and I have a new goal for 2013 (which I’ll tell you about tomorrow!).

4.Keep finances organized.
I’ve done incredibly well on this front. With the help of Microsoft Excel, I keep my finances on a spreadsheet and I do projections that help me see how and when I will hit certain targets.

5. Sharing my love with the people who are important to me.
I hope that I am doing this as I am trying really hard to do so. Short of asking my friends and family to fill out a questionnaire (and, if you knew me, you could see me actually doing that!) it is difficult to gauge. I know my relationships have improved with many of my friends because I’ve made more time for them (and a little time can mean a lot). My relationship with my siblings has also improved as I try to be less judgmental of them and just accept them for who they are. With my immediate family I try to make this a daily event and I know I’m more successful on some days than others, but I do keep working on it!

time and season

So what do I hope to achieve in 2013? Tomorrow I’ll share my plans for looking foward this coming year!

This entry was posted in inspiration, Life Changes, Photography, Quotes, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Looking Back (and Looking Forward)

  1. Lisa G says:

    I wish you much success in all you undertake – I have to work on my health and I don’t know why it’s a struggle to be healthy for me – low self-esteem must play a 10% part of the role here lol

  2. stephy905 says:

    Sounds like you’ve crossed some major bridges for the year 2012 for the better. I’m very happy for you. Right now I’m on the negative side with a positive outlook. Hoping 2013 is my year to cross good bridges.

  3. ccmouse says:

    What a wonderfully positive post! Happy New Year – all the best in 2013 and continuing friendship:)

  4. Cheryl Grandy says:

    Congratulations on your achievements! Change is hard, so it’s important to look at the overall results, not the individual failings. By listing your goals and looking at them at the end of the year, you can see how far you’ve come. Thank you for doing that. Your results have encouraged me to try it for 2013. Wishing you all the best in the New Year!

    • Thanks Cheryl! Being able to get excited about my successes (and encouragement when I need help) has been an amazing element of my blog. I appreciate the feedback and suggestions my readers give to me and have incorporated many of them in helping me to achieve my goals.

      Now for 2013! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Elva Roberts says:

    December 31-I think you have had a wonderful year, especially in being able to eat so healthy, cook more healty recipes and losing so much weight. You have my permission to get up on a table and do a congratulatory dance on it… May 2013 be happy, healty and blessed for you and yours. -el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  6. Congratulations on your achievements. Very encouraging!

  7. Janet W. says:

    Those are great achievements in 2012! Especially your weight loss and sticking to it! Way to go!

  8. Thanks for sharing your list! It’s been a while since I have actually made a list and put it together. Maybe it’s time again…

    Jenna
    http://www.snymed.blogspot.ca

  9. Pingback: 2012 Yearly Wrap Up | Lara: On the Weigh Down

  10. I think it’s a great idea to set some goals (achievable ones) and to have a direction for the year. It definitely makes looking back feel more rewarding! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Anne Taylor says:

    What a heartfelt post! Being positive doesn’t come easily for me; I have to force myself to be kind to myself sometimes as well.

  12. Pingback: Looking Forward to 2013 | Canadian Review Giveaway Blogger

Leave a Reply

