Looking Forward to 2013

At the end of 2012, I took a few minutes to look back at my goals for 2012 and I was pleased to see the results.

That being said, that a lot of things I’d like to accomplish in 2013 so I’m going to share them here as I’m looking forward!

train tracks

All of my goals fall within the same theme so I’ve decided to adopt a key phrase to remind myself of where I want to be. The phrase?

Aspire and Inspire!

I think it is important to aspire to goals but I think it is also a positive side effect when I can inspire others! I know that some of my friends have told me that I’ve been inspiring them to lose weight and begin exercising and, through your comments, I think I’ve inspired some of you as well!

1. Reach my weight goal by June 30th.
Have battled my weight for so many years, I’m ready to see the end of the tunnel (though I’ve come to realize that I’m developing habits I will continue to use for a lifetime!). I want to reach my target weight by June 30th and I plan to continue blogging about it weekly on Starting Strong Mondays.

The key to my success is to face my fears and embrace them. If one day does not go well, I can’t let it stop me. Instead, I can use that day to motivate me to do better the next day and so on…and so on…and so on!

2. To develop my photography skills
In 2012, I discovered (quite by accident) that I loved taking photos while walking.

I also realized that there was a way that I wanted to utilize my photos – I love designing my own picture quotes.

change my life

And, in another example of serendipity, I talked to a colleague who is an avid photographer and she told me that there is a whole subculture of photographers who design picture quotes. Who knew? I’m excited to find them on flickr and learn more!

My goal is to use my new camera (which I’ll show you soon!) and become a better photographer. I’m still surprised by how much I enjoy photography and I can’t wait to develop skills in this area!

3. To take time for myself
I’m often busy rushing around and, as such, I don’t take enough time to style my hair, put on makeup or apply nailpolish.

No more! I know that I feel a lot better when I do these things so I will be setting up a routine to ensure that I’m always looking my best!

4. To save money
Last year was great in terms of setting a budget and eliminating debt. The next step? To squash any remaining debt and develop a strong savings plan. I will be looking at a variety of options and sharing what I learn with my readers as well!

5. To run a 5K
Back in July, I swore I was going to start Couch to 5K with the goal of a 5K run.

I’ll be frank – it was a flop!

Now I’ve actually connected with some friends and we are planning to run a 5K in October. SO, now that I have a specific goal I’m heading back on the Couch to 5K trail!

6. Give Back to Others
Whether it be through donating my time or my money and resources, I plan to actively give back to my community.

I’m sure there are more goals I’d like to achieve, but I think these six are totally achievable in one year!

Improving Yourself

I’ll be refering back to these goals regularly so stay tuned (and feel free to keep me accountable!)

This entry was posted in inspiration, Life Changes, Photography, Quotes, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Looking Forward to 2013

  1. Elva Roberts says:

    January 4-Well, Maggie, I think you have come a long way-so many things accompolished and it is wonderful to share these with us who are also struggling. Thank you for bringing us up to date and sharing your gains(and setbacks) with us. You are human like the rest of us but most generous with your sharing. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  2. Stephanie LaPlante says:

    3, 4 & 6…I’m totally with you.

  3. Anne Taylor says:

    Those are all wonderful goals and I believe you will succeed with all of them! You truly are an inspiration. I had been doing so well with my weight loss journey until Christmas came around, but reading your posts has inspired me to think more positively about myself and to give myself a break.

    thank you

Leave a Reply

