It’s in the Routine – Starting Strong Mondays

This holiday season was a real struggle for me. I gained about 4 pounds. I know 2 things.

1. Sadly, I’ve gained more before over the holidays (I remember gaining 10 pounds on a 10 day holiday — I wish I was exaggerating!)!

2. If the holidays haven’t proven that I need routine in my life, I don’t know what does!

For years, I’ve bucked against routine. I always said I didn’t like it and wanted to be free-spirited.

Well – free-spirited equals weight gain in my world!

I’ve had to accept it and plan on the ways I can avoid anything that is going to take me away from my routine.

043

Here’s what I’ve done.

    • I’ve packed up the portion of my lunch that I can put together and have them sitting in the cupboard. Each evening, I can pull it out, add the other elements I need (such as fruit and milk) and then stick it in the fridge to take with me to work.
    • I’ve organized my work wardrobe for the week. Like my lunches, knowing that I don’t have to worry about what I’m going to wear makes life a lot easier in the mornings!
    • I’ve set my schedule of gym visits for the week and I’ve laid out my gym clothes as well. When it is time to go to the gym after work, all I have to do is pop on the clothes I’ve laid out and I’m ready to roll!

Though these are all little things, by doing each thing in advance, it elminates morning stress, the possibility of making a poor choice at lunch with the excuse that I forgot to pack a lunch and wandering around when it’s time to go the gym and making excuses that I can’t find my workout gear.

Structure and no excuses = success in my life!

I know...it's not my goal weight, but it's pretty close!

I know…it’s not my goal weight, but it’s pretty close!

With a goal of 120 pounds by June 20th (yes, you heard it here first!), I’m back on track!

This entry was posted in Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s in the Routine – Starting Strong Mondays

  1. Elva Roberts says:

    January 7-I’m happy you didn’t beat yourself up for a long period for being human and doing what probably 99% of the population does in North America over the holidays-gain weight! You have recognized your pitfalls and are doing something about it. Good for you! You continue to inspire and help us on our health journey be being honest wiith yourself and us. Good luck and blessings in the year ahead. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  2. Stephanie LaPlante says:

    Everyone deserves to indulge over the holidays. You’re a strong willed lady and you probably just needed a break.

  3. Laura says:

    Nice, when you can be in your own little routine, I find I do best also. But when we are invited to eat at the in laws or for a holiday, i alwasy feel i just need to eat what they prepare. Out of routine I guess. Keep up the good work, you are doing great!

  4. Anne Taylor says:

    I also had a bingey Christmas season! I’m sure I almost gain 10lbs (no joke) I then went back into my usual self loathing and all that good stuff. Right now I”m just working on the food aspect and once I get that conquered I’ll move back onto the bike! Its so easy to get off track and so difficult to get back on…..

  5. Cheryl Grandy says:

    Congratulations on having lunch, clothes and gym schedule planned for the week! Great way to make your week go the way you want it to. (I know that when I set out my vitamins for the week, I actually end up taking most of them. Thanks for reminding me of more things I can do to start my week in good way!)

  6. Jaimee M says:

    I always have to reset my routine back to normal. I tend to lose track being a stay at home mom of a toddler. (not an excuse really)
    Its nice to be able to follow you and track your success along with my own

  7. Dreena says:

    Holidays sure take most people out of routine and structure…with overindulgence (guilty, here!). It is great that you are organised for the upcoming week ahead. Good planning.
    Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

