#Fringe Finale – I Should Care (and Yet I Don’t)

As I’ve mentioned in the past, Fringe was my favourite show for a number of years. In fact, I’ve been talking about this show on the blog since 2010!

I loved the unique storylines and the characters — they had an amazing finale back in 2011 because the show was always driven by its storylines with strong characters as its backbone.

And I’ve been devoted. I’ve stuck with Fringe through conspiracies, alternate universes, the appearance of some very creepy men in suits (the Observers) throughout the years and trying to save the world from destruction!

Tonight marks the series finale of Fringe — so why am I not sad?

This year, knowing Fringe would be ending after half a season, I was excited to see what would happen. I set my PVR and I was ready to take in everything Fringe had to offer.

I was keen.

I was excited.

And I became disappointed and disallusioned.

This fall I tried to enjoy the series as the team found themselves in a future world run by the Observers. Peter and Olivia connected with their adult daughter who was working with the resistance against the Observers and the whole group tried to help free humankind from the Observers’ grasp.

Fringe logo Fox

Instead of being exciting and riveting, however, this last jump in time left the show muddied. Though you could tell there were attempts to raise the excitement level of the show, instead it fell flat.

I found myself saving episodes instead of watching them. Then I would try to watch them and stop partway through.

As the series ends tonight, I still have 5 episodes I haven’t watched. And I will probably delete them.

It makes me sad that Fringe is going out with a whimper instead of a bang. In retrospect, I wish the show has ended on a high, instead of dragging along this season.

Part of me would like to see how the finale wraps up the series, so I might keep it on my PVR until I’m ready to watch it (or, to be frank, until there is a day when I have nothing to watch!).

If you still love Fringe, be sure to tune into Fox tonight to watch the 2 hour season finale. (Or, if you are like me, think of it as a relationship gone bad and focus on remembering the good times!)

This entry was posted in Media, Technology, tv and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #Fringe Finale – I Should Care (and Yet I Don’t)

  1. Soozle says:

    I agree – to an extent – I was introduced to Fringe by a friend when it was into the second season.. I fell in love with it instantly when he had me to a s1 marathon. So much excitement!

    I also found this final season was lacking – long gone were the actual Fringe days of explaining the unexplainable – and replaced with just odd stories and lackluster episodes. I think they were trying to wrap up the show and had no idea how to do so…

    I will be sad to see it gone as I loved the first seasons… but will not miss this last year!

  2. Elva Roberts says:

    January 18-I think i know how you feel. One of my favourite shows has suddenly announced that the final episode is next week! It will probably be going out with a bigger whimper than your Fringe. I have never watched Fringe but I know how it feels when your favourite show seems ‘to have hit a wall’ and it looks like the writers are trying harder to sort out the ‘bits and pieces’ rather than to be honest about how the characters would be true to their previously portrayed roles. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  3. stephy905 says:

    I watch all my tv shows online. I haven’t seen any of Fringe but it’s on my watchlist. Wondering now if it’s worth my time…?

  4. Anne Taylor says:

    My youngest daughter pretty much feels the same way you do. She would watch Fringe every week sitting on the edge of her seat! She has tried to watch it this year, but hasn’t been able too.

  5. I have not watched it religiously but every now and then. I found it interesting but I guess not interesting enough to watch it regularly. 🙂

  6. Kristy Wong says:

    I haven’t watched fringe yet, but it looks interesting!!

Leave a Reply

