Positive People Deserve a Big Shoutout! #thebigshoutout

Growing up, I knew a number of kids who had Big Brothers or Big Sisters. And, I have to admit, I was jealous! I didn’t understand why they had a Big Brother or Big Sister, I just knew that they went out and did fun things together! Looking back, I realize that I was lucky because I had my own mentors (in my case, it was one of my elementary school teachers — he encouraged my dreams and helped give me the belief that I could do anything I was determined to do!).

I hadn’t given the Big Brother/Big Sister program much of a thought (I am embarassed to say!) until a couple of years ago when one of my best friends told me that she had been interviewing to become a Big Sister. She had teenagers so I have to admit I was baffled and found myself asking her, “Why do you want to be a Big Sister?” She explained that her teens were boys and she really wanted to connect with a girl. She also wanted to provide a child with a positive role model (and, while I know I am biased, I think they couldn’t have made a better choice!).

the big shoutout

So I have seen others with mentors, and I have had a mentor myself. I’m hopeful that over the years someone has seen me as their mentor — there couldn’t be a great honour in my opinion!

So what does all of this have to do with the Big Shoutout?

Well, I’ve come to realize that without my mentor, I would be a different person than I am today! And, like my friend, I’ve come to realize that I want to mentor a child in the same way because I was lucky to have that experience!

Do you want to honour a person who made your life better by knowing them? If so, check out The Big Shoutout. On this site you can give thanks to that special person as well as learning how you can make a difference too!

This entry was posted in inspiration, Life Changes, Media and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Positive People Deserve a Big Shoutout! #thebigshoutout

  1. Pam Young says:

    One of my mentors is now the principal at the local highschool. She taught me grade 11 English and was such a great teacher and person who I could relate to. I was so excited to reconnect with her last year:) I really think mentors are a must have in the lives of young people.

  2. Anne Taylor says:

    I sat here yesterday when I first saw this post and wanted to make a positive comment. I left the page up all day long until I shut it down. I didn’t have any positive people in my life to guide me and its really affected me and also trickled down to my own children. I wish I’d had a mentor. You are blessed to have had yours.! (this isn’t a waa waa feel sorry for me post, its just an honest one) Thanks

    • Hi Anne! I am so sorry to hear that! From all of the things you have shared over the years, I can tell you are a really caring person and I think you have been a mentor to many people (even if you haven’t realized it!). Huge hugs!!!

  3. Elva Roberts says:

    January 28–I had a mentor in the mother of one of my friends. This woman influenced me for the good in more ways that I can mention,. She taught me how to iron, knit and shared books with me. I was just as much her friend as I was her daughter’s and I will be eternally grateful to this kind and caring woman.el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

