Eat Your Peppers Turkey! (Turkey Stuffed Peppers) Recipe

I’ve found that I’ve really fallen into a food rut and that makes it challenges to make good choices and stay motivated!

So I decided to break out and challenge myself by making something new.

I love sweet peppers…. and turkey…. and rice…. and vegetables so it seemed logical to put them together!

I also made my peppers with whole wheat rice, which added some extra fibre and density to the peppers, but white rice would also be an excellent option!

Turkey Stuffed Peppers

Ingredients:
4 peppers, halved and seeded
1 cup white or whole wheat rice (I like whole wheat for the added fibre but white rice takes on the flavours more readily)
2 1/2 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth
1 tsp vegetable oil
1 small onion, finely chopped
1 garlic clove, crushed OR 1 tbsp minced garlic
300 grams skinless, boneless turkey breast, cut into small chunks
tomato (1 large or 2 medium), chopped
1/2 cup frozen peas, thawed
1 tbsp paprika
1 tbsp mixed herbs
1 pinch ground pepper

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

Place peppers, cut side up, in foil-lined roasting pan.

Place chicken stock in small pot and boil, then add rice and cover. Cook until liquid is absorbed and rice is tender then remove from heat.

browningAs rice is cooking, drizzle oil in a large frying pan and place on medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic and stir fry until softened (approximately 3-4 minutes). Add turkey and stir-fry for 5 minutes.

rice and pea stuffingAdd tomatos, peas, paprika, herbs and pepper then remove from heat and. Drain any remaining liquid from rice and add to the mixture. Stir until ingredients are mixed well together.

stuffing with turkey

Spoon the turkey/vegetable/rice filling and fill each pepper help until heaping. Cover with foil and bake for 20-25 minutes.

ready to cook

Serve immediately.

Per portion (2 halves) : 300 calories

If you have extra stuffed peppers that you want to freeze, you can follow the instructions here.

Vegan? Vegetable stock can be substituted for chicken stock and turkey can be omitted.

Vegetarian? Make the vegan changes but you can top with a thin layer of shredded mozzarella cheese and return to oven to broil for 2-3 minutes until melted.

Feeling daring? Drizzle a tablespoon of sweet chili sauce on top!

This entry was posted in Food, Photography, Recipes, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Eat Your Peppers Turkey! (Turkey Stuffed Peppers) Recipe

  1. sarah p says:

    ooo…That filling looks amazing!! I am not a huge fan of peppers, but if their soft enough I like em. I’d probably just wind up eating that filling though. Sounds delicious! 🙂

  2. Soozle says:

    Mmmm! Sounds delicious – I love that it can be adapted for a vegan/vegetarian diet as well!

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. Elva Roberts says:

    February 20-Thank you Maggie, for this Recipe using Peppers. I have wanted to use Peppers in my cooking as I know they contain lots of vitamin C, I believe. This recipe sounds delicious and I may try it with green peppers as well. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  4. Anne Taylor says:

    Yum, Yum, Yum! You have so inspired me and I’m going to make these for Oscar Night! Thanks

  5. Rachel Molcak says:

    I’m always looking for new stuffed pepper recipes! These look great!

  6. Heidi C. says:

    This sounds delicious! Pinning it right away!

  7. Elizabeth Matthiesen says:

    sounds really good – I’d omit the sweet chili sauce on top though – I don’t live dangerously 🙂

  8. Elva Roberts says:

    This food post looks just as delicious as it did nearly a year ago. I think it is a simple and delicious reciipe-the very best kind of recipe

Leave a Reply

