California Peaches Bring Summer Through the Snow (Recipes)

In December I was incredibly optimistic about winter — there was barely any snow and I was feeling like spring was right around the corner. And it seemed like the weather was beautiful everywhere as fresh fruits and vegetables were abundant!

Then, BAM! The winter weather hit! It has been crazy with all of the snow and storms that have been beating down our area. And, again, it seems like that weather has changed everywhere as the bottom dropped out on the price of fruits and vegetables too!

With produce prices hitting a high mark, it doesn’t mean I can stop making sure that fruits and vegetables are incorporated into daily meals without breaking the bank!

One way to ensure that we are getting fruit in our diet without spending the entire grocery budget is to pick up California Cling Peaches!

Last summer I made myself and the girls Peach Smoothies so I thought we might like this variation! It’s a little more exotic but I know the girls like Greek yogurt and I thought that coconut water would give it a great tropical taste!

Tropical Peach Breeze Smoothie

Tropical Peach Breeze Smoothie


Ingredients
1 can 14 oz / 398 mL California cling peach slices
½ cup coconut water or plain or vanilla almond milk
½ cup Greek vanilla, honey or peach yogurt, preferably 0%
1 tsp vanilla
¼ tsp ginger
1/8 tsp nutmeg
Honey or agave syrup (optional)

Directions
Drain peaches reserving 2 tbsp juice. Place peaches, reserved peach juice, coconut water or almond milk, yogurt, vanilla, ginger and nutmeg in a blender. Blend until smooth. If you wish sweeten with honey or agave syrup.

Makes about 2 cups for 2 smoothies (or 4 – 1/2 cup servings).

Prep: 5 min Total time: 5 min

And the verdict? It was a hit! I actually cut back on the ginger to 1/8 tsp, used coconut water and Vanilla Greek 0% Yogurt. I also added a little honey to bring out the natural sweetness.

I would definitely makes these again. They are quick to prepare, full of healthy ingredients and the girls think they are a huge treat!

This recipe and image was courtesy of California Cling Peach Board. If you liked to try some other California Cling Peach recipes, check out their website. (I think I’m going to make the Peach Crumble Cake next!)

This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to California Peaches Bring Summer Through the Snow (Recipes)

  1. Elva Roberts says:

    February 21-I know well what you are saying about the price of fruit. Grapes are almost $4 a poung in our stores. The only relief is that strawberries are a loss leader this coming week.. They are not as sweet as our own Island ones but ‘ beggars can’t ‘ be choosers’ . Thank you for the recipes.-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  2. Soozle says:

    Ooooh! This sounds delicious! Don’t ask me why, but I have never thought of adding canned peaches to a smoothie!

  3. Anne Taylor says:

    Yum that sounds delicious and reminds me of warmer weather! Thanks for the recipe! I’m always trying to figure out how to get more yogurt in me!

  4. sarah p says:

    Mmmm I love a good smoothie! Such an easy snack or breakfast to whip up. I never thought to include peaches other than peach yogurt occasionally. This will be a nice alternative to the overly banana ones I usually have . Thanks for sharing!

  5. Kimberly B says:

    I PInned your Tropical Peach Smoothie recipe

  6. Christa Dunn (Krebs) says:

    I live in a Colorado area which is notorious for growing delicious peaches as well! Thanks for the recipe!

  7. Elizabeth Matthiesen says:

    these sound lovely, I’m sure I’ll love them when peaches are in season again. Might even let my grandchildren have a try 🙂

  8. Elva Roberts says:

    Your peach smoothie looks delicious and I still haven’t tried it! It was that kind of a year-However we survived and everyone (almost) is better and happier and Healthier-so what more can one ask for?!–el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

