What You Talking About? Starting Strong Monday

The past few days I’ve been sitting and every time I try to sit down and write about my continuing journey, I hit a writer’s block wall.

It’s not that I don’t have a lot to tell you all; it’s just that I can’t seem to organize my thoughts.

It’s probably the lack of coffee!

From December to March, I hit a wall. Hard. While I was still making an effort (or so I thought), I went up….and down…and up…and down. By the beginning of March I was basically at the same point I’d been at the beginning of December.

And it was frustrating.

I made some dramatic changes at this point. I went back to classes at the gym — I find that I work harder in classes because I’m pretty competitive and stubborn so I find myself challenging my body to work harder.

In terms of my diet, I’ve been tracking my meals even more closely than I did before, thanks to my menu calendar.

food tracker

I switched out cereal as my early meal to fruit-based meals. I tried to mix it up with various types of fruit, primarily apples, pears, bananas, oranges and grapefruit.

I also gave up artificial sweetener and switched to a raw type of sugar which, in turn, has led me to give up coffee for the most part as well.

The result has been excellent! In the past 2 weeks I have lost almost 5 pounds. I am really tired at the end of the day but I also find myself sleeping well.

My goal is to continue on the path I am traveling. I feel good and have more confidence. And I know I can reach my goal!

This entry was posted in Life Changes, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What You Talking About? Starting Strong Monday

  1. Elva Roberts says:

    March 11-Welcome again to the real world, Maggie. It could be the same story of my past few months, except I have not been as successful as you have been getting back on track. We rejoice in your success and, hopefully, we will try to emulate it, again!-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  2. mommyoutside says:

    Sounds like you are motivated to stay on track! Good for you. I really need to find a way to get back on track with my workouts. I use to be a fanatic about it but I’m really struggling now to find the time to fit it in 😦

  3. Good for you!! I hope you can keep up this new way of living…it can be so hard after being in a rut. I started using Xylitol in place of sugar about a year ago. It is natural, no aftertaste, and is actually good for teeth….I love their gum & ice chips too – Yummy!!

  4. Good for you for getting back on track and trying new things! Change takes time. 🙂 I know that after this baby comes, I will be looking at my diet to make sure that I get back to my pre-baby weight and body. Thanks for encouraging by sharing your journey!

  5. callista83 says:

    That’s awesome! I am planning to make changes to my lifestyle, I just haven’t got there yet. Thanks for the encouragement.

  6. Soozle says:

    COngrats on your journey so far. It is not an easy journey by ANY means, Maggie!

    I admire you for staying strong with your goals and how dedicated you are to achieving them 🙂 Way to go, lady!

  7. paula schuck says:

    We all hit walls once in awhile, but keep trying and we miss you when you are gone.

  8. Anne Taylor says:

    I’m thinking of giving up artificial sweeteners as well. I have not been doing well since Christmas and have gained back so much weight. Its so hard not to fall back into the “I’ve failed I might as well fail more and eat this” mind set.

    Congrats on your 5lbs!

  9. multitestingmommy says:

    Good job hon! What kind of raw sugar?

    • It’s called Demerara sugar (I have real issues spelling it!*l*). It is natural brown sugar that has been processed much less than regular brown sugar. It is really dark and has a slight molasses flavour to it but is quite pleasant! I really like it and it is getting much easier to drink my tea with only a little sugar and I actually tried coffee again and it was okay too!

Leave a Reply

