Using Your Clothes to Encourage Your Weight Loss Journey – Starting Strong Mondays

This month I’m proud to say that I’ve gotten back on track after my 3 month period where I screwed around and wasted time. As a result, I’m down over 8 pounds and I can actually visualize myself reaching my goal!

One thing that I did, as I gained weight, was that I kept the clothes that I loved along the way — clothes that were “timeless” (such as jeans, A-line skirts and solid coloured tops). Though I never expected it would take me this long to get back within spitting distance of fitting into these clothes again, I’m stubborn and I kept because I swore I’d be able to wear them again!

This past month, one of the greatest sources of encouragement have been to try on clothes, sharing ones that are now too large with friends who are on the same journey (and just a bit behind me) and getting excited when items that were too tight only 2 weeks ago now fit!

Even shoes that I thought were too small fit again (honestly - who knew?!?!?)

Even shoes that I thought were too small fit again (honestly – who knew?!?!?)

Today, I unpacked the last box of clothes that I’d be stored — items that I packed away and labeled them as goal weight clothes. I started sorting through these clothes to decide which ones I would wash or dryclean first and you know what I realized? There is at least two items that fits me already and some pants and skirts that I want to dryclean right away because if I keep working hard they will fit me soon (I can actually squeeze into them now but they aren’t wearable or comfortable yet!).

So why am I telling you all of this?

First of all, if you are frugal (like me!) and you know you have some clothes that will stand the test of time, don’t discard them. Simply put them away and tell yourself that you will fit into them again. Though it may take awhile (or, in my case, translate that into years), they provide a great incentive.

And, most importantly, don’t give up on your dreams! I fully realize that until I hit rock bottom 16 monthes ago, I had kept the clothes but given up on my dreams.

Now I am looking better, feeling better and, most importantly, I am proud of myself.

While it may sound cliche, if I can do it, you can too!

(PS – Remember to treat yourself sometimes too! Last week I went shopping with a friend and bought 2 tops that were both size small – I love how they look and how pretty I feel when I’m wearing them!)

This entry was posted in clothing, Fashion, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Using Your Clothes to Encourage Your Weight Loss Journey – Starting Strong Mondays

  1. Rene says:

    Thanks for the post – I am on a weight loss journey as well. I decided 4 weeks postpartum to put away all of my maternity clothes and I am glad I did. Having only 1 pair of jeans that fits (and it being my ‘fat’ pair, I am encouraged to stay on track in order to fit back into my cute spring/summer clothes that have been stashed away!

    • You can do it Rene! Do you have a favourite item? If so, I’d keep it in the closet and then as you lose bit by bit see how it fits – you’ll be amazed at how good it makes you feel as it gets closer to fitting!

  2. Jackie says:

    awesome! I have a bin of too small clothes – some i bought purposely too small when they were on sale – incentive. I have also messed around for a few months this year, but with foot surgery coming up and no activity for a while after – I now HAVE to make some changes in how I eat and squeeze in exercise over the next month while I can. I love that you did this and your post – timely since I need a kick in the pants šŸ™‚

  3. Pam Young says:

    Congratulations! That is so awesome, there is nothing better than purchasing new spring clothes – and in a size small too!! You are an inspiration:)

  4. Jen says:

    I have 1 pair of jeans from pre-pregnancy… mind you I was too skinny at 120lbs/5’7″ and I really don’t need to be that small again. My goal is 20lbs…I just have to get started!

  5. Great job on finding clothes in your weight loss box that fit. Good job!

  6. I’m having a tough time. In the last month I found out I was moving, packed and moved 18 hours. I lived in a hotel for a week and now in a tiny apartment but don’t have any of my stuff because it’s all in storage until we get a house. I wasn’t smart and I didn’t pack my DVDs for working out. I did by a cheapo blender yesterday for my Shakeology to help me get back on track. I’m using my phone as a hot spot, so I don’t want to use my computer for workout videos either. lol Oh well.

  7. I hope I’ll have a small bin after I birth my twins šŸ˜‰ I’m so happy for you. congrats on feeling better and I’m proud of you too! xo

  8. Elva Roberts says:

    April 2-I am so very proud of all your determination and hard work. I know because i am still on the Journey . You give me hope, encouragement and incentive. Thank you for sharing with us. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.ocm

  9. Soozle says:

    Congratulations on getting back on track with your weight loss journey!

    I really love reading your Starting Strong MOnday posts – they are truly inspiring to me (and I am sure others) to keep on track (or get back on track) with my own journey!

    Thank you šŸ™‚
    P.S
    I actually had no clue your shoes would fit differently depending on your weight! DOn’t ask me WHY, I just didn’t think of it!

    • I have to tell you – I never thought about it either! *lol* I do have some knee-high boots that I can fit into now (that did make sense to me because I knew my calves would get bigger or smaller) but they are pretty tight — I’m hoping in the next few weeks they will be a comfortable fit again as I can’t wait to wear them!

  10. Anne Taylor says:

    I keep all of my clothes that are different sizes. I had lost 75lbs at Christmas but since then have gained half of it back. I don’t know what’s going on with me, but I wish that my mindset would change

    • I hope it changes for you too Anne! Please take it from me — I had to decide that I could do it before I was able to do it. My own fear of failure held me back but I have refused to let it shape my future! Huge hugs!

Leave a Reply

