He likes them, he really likes them!

My parents aren’t getting any younger (yes, I do have a knack for stating the obvious!). What I mean is that my parents are now in their late 60s and I worry about them. A lot.

I also look at them and realize that we’ve all been a family of snackers. Then I look at the girls and see that they like to snack too. (I’m assuming it is nurture and not nature as I don’t believe they have isolated the “snacking” gene yet!).

While I may not be able to get them to stop snacking, I can share healthier snacks with them!

Dare logoDare Foods have recognized the need for healthy snacks and released Breton Popped! What I would describe as part cracker, part chip, Breton Popped! have something that makes them stand apart from other snacks – a combination of supergrains that I’ve never seen in a snack before! This combination of amaranth, barley, buckwheat, millet, oat flour, quinoa, sorghum, spelt, teff and triticale in addition to whole grain corn and wheat. As a result, each serving (20 grams or 17-18 cracker chips) have 10g of whole grains and only 90 calories!

It’s great to talk about the supergrains and the low calories per serving, but it means nothing without a great tasting cracker chip to go with it! I know — I’ve tried more times than I care to admit over the past few years to share healthier snacks — generally my dad says he doesn’t like them or he says they are “okay” and I never notice them in my parent’s house again! The girls, much as I love them, are just like their grandparents in that regard. They know what they like and what they don’t!

So how did Breton Popped stack up?

I shared one box of each of the 3 flavours (Cheddar, Barbecue and Sea Salt) with my parents and, when I left, they were in the process of opening a box.

Breton Popped! Supergrains & Cheddar (aka the snack my dad enjoyed!)

Breton Popped! Supergrains & Cheddar (aka the snack my dad enjoyed!)

The next day, when I stopped in, my dad’s first words to me were, “Where can you buy those Breton things? We ate the box of Cheddar ones and want to get some more!”

WHOA NELLY! My mom and dad liked Breton Popped! Hallelujah! (I’m not going to share the benefits of Breton Popped! – I’m just going to let them enjoy them!)

And the girls? They really like both the Cheddar and the Sea Salt varieties. And me? The Barbecue flavour is my favourite! What I like about Breton Popped! (in addition to the taste of course!) are the texture of these cracker chips. You can taste all of the different grains on your tongue as you are eating them and, to me, they seem more filling too!

So I’d highly recommend Breton Popped! You get all of the decadence of a chip combined with the complex flavours that I’ve also liked with Breton crackers. At $2.99 they are competitively priced as well.

Give them a try and share with your favourite snacker (just don’t tell them how healthy they are!).

This entry was posted in Food, Review, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to He likes them, he really likes them!

  1. Elva Robertse. says:

    April 10-Once again, Maggie, I have learned something new from you . Not about snacking–My husband and I both love to snack and he loves chips! I am going to try these Bretpm craclers and I hope he will love them. Thank you for your up-to-date information. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  2. Heidi C. says:

    These are yummy! I like the cheddar version!

  3. Anne Taylor says:

    Yumm, these sound delicious! I think I’d like the Sea Salt ones the best!

  4. I haven,t tried them yet but am going to.THX

  5. I bought some last week and I really like them!

  6. Florence C says:

    I have tried those Breton Pops and they are delicious.

  7. Soozle says:

    I tried these for the first time this week – LOVE them as well! They have a very satisfying crunch to them – very chip like without the guilt 🙂 I can see myself buying them very regularly!

  8. Lisa A. says:

    Thanks for the info – I saw these on the shelf the other day and didn’t pick any up. Taste great and healthy too- wow – must buy a few boxes tomorrow to try … great snack to have on hand for the pending storm that is supposed to be heading our way!

  9. Elizabeth Matthiesen says:

    I’ve not tried these but I am a snacker too 😦 so it would be super if I found these tasted good to me, a much healthier choice than my normal ice cream, cheese and crackers or such. Thanks for a great tip 🙂

  10. Elva Roberts says:

    Once again I am writing about these Breton Popped Snack Crackers. Unfortunately, I did not get a chance to find and try them as we had a busy summer with a husband who was unwell from May until November. I still plan to look for them and try them out as they sound tasty and healthy– a wonderful combination/.
    el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  11. loucheryl says:

    My son and husband both fight over these! They are so tasty!

Leave a Reply

