May is Cystic Fibrosis Awareness Month (and you can help!)

Though I always joke that know very little about science (and it’s no joke – don’t ever talk to my Science teachers in high school about me!), I do understand what cystic fibrosis (CF) is. This disease will forever have the face of a special child in my mind.

When I was a teenager, I babysat a young girl and then began babysitting her little brother as well after he was born. Though they didn’t know it right away, he had cystic fibrosis. And, because of his disease, I learned how to do physical therapy with him when I was babysitting and how to deal with the potential of a medical emergency.

He was a beautiful boy and he soldiered through the pain of his therapy and the fact that he often was at a loss of air. I can’t imagine how difficult it must have been for him, but he grew up to be a sweet child who stole my heart.

Sadly, CF stole him. At the age of seven he died as a result of this disease. And, while it has been more than 20 years since he passed, he remains in my heart.

Cystic Fibrosis Canada logoMay is Cystic Fibrosis Month in Canada.

While I can’t imagine what it is like to live with CF, this video of the day in the life of Lisa, who lives with CF, truly opened my eyes!

cystic fibrosis great stridesOne of the ways you can help is to choose to walk in Cystic Fibrosis’ Great Strides on Sunday, May 26th. You can learn more about it here. Can’t walk? Well you can still sponsor a walker or a team. Your help could make a world of difference to someone with Cystic Fibrosis.

While I can’t bring back the little boy who touched me heart all those years ago, I will be walking so I can help other individuals with CF have a better future!

This entry was posted in inspiration, Media and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May is Cystic Fibrosis Awareness Month (and you can help!)

  1. Elva Roberts says:

    May 8- Thank you for this video of Lisa. It is very compelling to watch but it shows us how much time CF medicating takes up in her day. She seems very upbeat and we are hoping that science brings a cure soon for Lisa and all the people who have this difficult disease. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  2. Heidi C. says:

    Cystic fibrosis is a very challenging disease to have but Lisa sounds to be coping really well! Although with new treatments and advances in research, CF has become more manageable but there is still a long way to go. I hope people will help support this cause!

Leave a Reply

