5 Ways to Save $50 This Month!

While I’ve gotten good at budgeting over the past year, I’ve actually gotten GREAT at saving!

Though I know many people roll their eyes when I say it, every little bit literally does count!

Next week I’m going to share a way that you can save over $1 000 in one year without feeling it at all but, for now, I wanted to share my Top 10 ways to save $50 (or more!) this month!

5. Adjust the temperature in your home during the day
It can be really easy to forget to turn down the heat when you are going out on the winter, or turn off the AC and fans in the summer but it can make a huge difference to your electricity bill! Once I’d realized that turning off the AC during the day when no one was home and the rates were higher (even though it meant it would take some time to cool down the house upon return!) I was able to cut my hydro bill down by approximately 30% a month through this method alone!

Hydro One Time of Use TOU rates

4. Make your own coffee/tea (summer and winter!)
I have always loved coffee (though I must admit I’ve been convert recently to tea) and I absolutely adore Iced Coffee! That being said, I can’t stomach the cost of Iced Coffee (they wanted $4.95 recently at a local coffee shop — I almost had a heart attack!) so I designed my own iced coffee recipe that is cheap, easy and low-calorie too!

ice coffee final product

By making my own coffee and tea, I figured I’ve been saving about $14 a week (at 1 coffee/tea per day at the cost of $2 each — and if you drink multiple coffees or teas each day you can save even more!).

3. Run appliances during off-peak times
Though I have to admit it surprises me, I’ve discovered that there are a number of people who haven’t realized the impact that TOU (time of use) plays in their electricity bills. While the winter schedule just ended, the summer schedule has started and it means that the peak times (with higher rates) have changed — check out the chart below! By choosing to do laundry on the weekends or in the evenings and running the dishwasher after 7 pm makes a big impact in my Hydro bill as well! Hydro One even recognizes the potential saves and includes a number of TOU saving tips on their website!

Hydro One summer rates

 

2. Use coupons AND make use of sales
Whether you are looking at holiday sales or simply just trying to stretch your weekly budget, one key is to ensure that you don’t just use coupons. Take those coupons and combine them with sales and it will blow your mind with how much money you can save!

 

1. Use the Library (it’s not just for books anymore!)
I’ve found the local Library to be absolutely amazing and it’s not just about going and picking up a novel anymore! These days you can borrow music CDs, DVDs and even download books for free! I have to admit my favourite use of the Library is the downloadable books because they automatically check themselves back in which means I don’t get a fine if I forget!

 

food and money

There are so many ways you can save money and this is just the tip of the iceberg. Coupon Christmas provided that fact in her recent post about 150 Ways to Save Money (Besides Couponing) from Coupon Christine. What an amazing list and it’s already got my creative money-saving mind whirring!

This entry was posted in Life Changes, Organization, Savings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5 Ways to Save $50 This Month!

  1. Elva Roberts says:

    May 10-Thank you for these tips for saving money. We started turning of our oil furnace during the nights and during the day when it was warm. The furnace would run several times day and night to heat water we weren’t using. Our oil lasts for longer periods now. I will check out your other tips as well and look forward to more frugal tips.-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  2. Soozle says:

    Thanks for sharing these tips! I am always looking for a way to save some money… I actually didn’t realize using certain appliances during certain times of the day would make a difference! That was a real surprise!

  3. Wanda Bergman says:

    Always looking for ways to save money and I especially like your recipe for Iced Coffee!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

