Start Fresh and Enjoy the Sunshine – Starting Strong Monday

You know what I do when I’m feeling stressed? I eat. No shocker there, right?

This past week I’ve found myself feeling really anxious – not hungry, just anxious – and I’ve eaten something I shouldn’t because I think it makes me feel better.

The reality? It doesn’t make me feel better at all. And when I stand on the scale and I’ve gained weight, I’m not pleased at all to say the least!

This week’s focus is finding ways to alleviate the stress in my life and I’m doing a number of things.

I’m accepting that there are some things I have no control over. Rather than worrying about what might be, I need to let it go.

serenity prayer photo quote

I need to think not only about what I’m eating but WHY I’m eating. Have you ever seen that sign, “Call before you dig”? I need a sign that says, “Stop before you eat!”

I also find that when I have a lot of extraneous clutter I get stressed because I like order. So I’ve been sorting out the clothes that no longer fit – as well as some other things – and organizing them. I’m also in the process of reorganizing my entire closet thanks to a cool Rubbermaid product that I’ll be telling you about next week!

It is also completely gorgeous out and I need to utilize that by walking every chance I get! It’s the perfect time of year to get using the cool digital camera I got for my birthday and putting it to good use!

I woke up this morning with a sense of serenity and a focus outlook. I think I’ve found my focus again!

And keep checking back because this week’s giveaway theme is Healthy Choices so there are a LOT of cool prizes to be won!

Happy Victoria Day!

This entry was posted in Food, Life Changes, Organization, Quotes, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Start Fresh and Enjoy the Sunshine – Starting Strong Monday

  1. Oh, I’m right there with you that I eat when I’m stressed and it always makes me feel worse – not better! I need to figure out how to control myself!

  2. Soozle says:

    You’re not alone! I am definitely someone who either stress eats (on junk food) OR conversely cannot eat at all.. It’s such a strange ‘habit’, isn’t it?

    I don’t know what it is about eating junk that has the ability to calm.. temporarily!

    Hoping you find some peace from the anxious times!

  3. Elva Roberts says:

    May 24-Welcome to the ‘Eat when you are stressed club, preferably something chocolate and sweet!” You have so many companions in your journey so do not beat up on yourself. You are honest enough to share with us and so we do not feel alone in our journey. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  4. Heidi C. says:

    That was my grandmother favourite saying. She had a cross-stitch of it up on her bedroom wall as well as a little decorative piece with it. When she died, my mom took the cross-stitch and I took the other piece. We heard that saying so much, we both wanted to hold onto the words!

  5. Elizabeth Matthiesen says:

    Some days I just get out of the wrong side of the bed I think :-). Smile and say what the heck and get on with the day. Some days everything just seems to go wrong, no particular reason it’s just one of those days. So chin up and onward we go.

  6. Elva Roberts says:

    I reread your post today and I thought how relevant it is, a year later, and probably a year from now. It is so difficult to give up ’emotional eating.’- I try to substitute hot tea for the goodies but it doesn’t always work. I am striving to get back on my exercise plan. We had two surgeries in our family last year-one in June on my husband; and one in October for our oldest Granddaughter, which was very serious. She is doing well now and we feel we have been blessed as the complications (facial reconstruction) did not have to be faced as the tumor (behind her eye) did not reach into her facial bone as anticipated by her neurosurgeon. By some miracle, calcium seeped out of her bones and completely encased her tumor in a crystal casing.This stopped the tumor from entering her bones.This seems to happen very rarely. The surgeon certainly did not anticipate it but was very happy that it occurred.We thank God every day for His goodness to our granddaughter.-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

