TV Violence – is it getting worse or am I just getting older???

silence of the lambs posterWhen the film Silence of the Lambs came out in 1991 (I had to Google this one – I can’t believe the movie is that old!), I remember being appalled by the concepts behind the movie, but I don’t remember the movie actually being that graphic. Because I’ve always had a love for suspense films, I remember that I actually enjoyed it.

Fast forward 22 years and I see an announcement that Hannibal will be a new television series. Because it is based on Silence of the Lambs, I thought it would be engaging.

I watched 3 episodes before I just couldn’t stomach it anymore (I only watched the 3 episodes because I have a rule – I have to watch 3 episodes before I can officially say I don’t like a show that I thought I would enjoy). The violence was just too much.

Now, when I say violence I don’t mean the usual shot-some-stuff, hit-some-people violence (which is good because some of my favourite shows – including Arrow, Grimm and Person of Interest – have some violence in them). Even The Following, which drives me crazy because of its violence -I managed to dodge much of it by going to the bathroom when I know things are going to get gross – doesn’t even begin to hold a candle to Hannibal.

I feel like extreme (and somewhat gratuitous) violence glorifies graphic and perverse violence so much that I fear people will become immune to it.

Hannibal offers an example of this phenomena. Because I didn’t want to judge the show without giving it another chance I turned it on this week — and found myself looking at the most gruesome totem pole-like design made out of human bodies. After seeing it flash over and over and over in the first 10 minutes, I knew it simply was too much!

I don’t know if I am simply getting older and my worldview is changing but I can’t believe that a show like Hannibal is appearing on television each and every week and portraying graphic death and dismemberment for anyone to watch.

Have you watched Hannibal? If so, how do feel about the gruesome images portrayed on the show?

This entry was posted in dvd, Media, tv and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to TV Violence – is it getting worse or am I just getting older???

  1. stephy905 says:

    I haven’t seen Hannibal yet but was planning on it. No you’re not getting old. TV is just getting more graphic. Horror movies 20 years ago, maybe 10, are less gruesome then television today. My mom fears they give psychos bad ideas. Sometimes I fear that too. Although, I watch these violent shows myself. You and I seem to watch the same things.

  2. Jodi says:

    I find most TV shows appalling! I remember, as well being terrified of “Carrie”, “Silver Bullet” and yes even “Silence of the Lambs”, but now it is so commonplace in TV with shows like “Criminal Minds”, which has great ratings, “Dexter” and “Hannibal”. The commercial previews for these shows are too much for me. I cannot watch and will not watch. It seems that too many of these scripts are turning into real-life mysteries in our society, it’s sobering to know that things you watch on tv have happened in nearby communities…..

  3. Anne Taylor says:

    We’ve watched all episodes so far of Hannibal. It is uber violent. At first the show just plain out confused me; I couldn’t figure out who was who/who was having visions etc. That being said, yes, I believe that tv is getting more and more violent as well as more sexual.

    The human totem pole was truly disturbing to me.

    I don’t really think the show is that good though and I doubt it will get a second season (at least I hope not)

  4. Soozle says:

    I agree – I couldn’t watch Hannibal as it was too disturbing for me.

    I am also one who usually enjoys shows like that – I LOVE Dexter. However, Dexter may be violence based, but it never seems as gory as some other shows.. I don’t know how it’s different, but it is to me..

    I guess there is just way too much violence in the real world these days – I am not wanting to watch it on TV too.

  5. Heidi C. says:

    I watched about 5 minutes of Hannibal and that was just about enough for me. I think the uber-violence is a bit of a desperate way to attract viewers and I doubt the show is going to make it past this season!

  6. Elva Roberts says:

    June 3—I hate violent movies. I haven’t seen Violence of the Lambs because i heard reports of some of it gruesome moments. Hannibal liked to impale people on stakes so I will be passing that one up. I watched the show Vikings on Tv for a few minutes and that was enough. We are exposed to more violence all the time and we wonder why our children are seeing more and more of the violence of bullying1 It’s not the only reason but it does not help. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  7. Shirley says:

    I’m now too scared to watch it.

Leave a Reply

