Death of Cory Monteith from Glee – Celebrity Deaths

I had big plans today and things I was going to write about and share. Then I opened Facebook this morning and read a status that said “Is it a hoax or is Cory Monteith from the show Glee really dead?” And then I learned it was true. Celebrity deaths rarely impact me but Cory’s death truly has.

Cory Monteith

I was stunned then found myself in tears as I read news reports about Cory’s death.

I loved the show Glee – which I think is pretty apparent because I wrote about Glee cast changes, The Glee Project and we still play with our Sing Along with Glee! Karaoke!

But that wasn’t, and isn’t, what is making me mourn.

I’m sad that the life of a 31 year old (he was only 10 years younger than me!) who has family and friends who love him has been cut short. I’m sad that there is a possibility that he overdosed because it means that, even with success, he couldn’t escape his demons.

And I’m sad that he died alone.

Rest in Peace Cory. You were a great actor who I was proud to say was Canadian and, even more, from all reports you were a simply great guy!

You will be missed.

This entry was posted in Media, tv and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Death of Cory Monteith from Glee – Celebrity Deaths

  1. Anne Taylor says:

    I heard about a “celebrity death” in Vancouver last night about 10pm on my facebook feed! So I was madly googling and the only name I could find was Cory’s… I couldn’t believe it! He was raised here in Victoria and came here quite often; Its amazing how proud one can be of another whom you don’t know at all, but I was so proud.

    When I watched the police news conference at 10:30, they indeed said that it was Cory Monteith who had passed. I had tears dripping off of my chin.

    Damn drug addiction (if that’s indeed what it was) He had such promise, but I guess when you boil down to it, every addict out there has their promise. I’m in recovery myself and have yet to figure out what I’m meant to do. I cannot judge him, blame him, be angry with him; I just mourn for him, for his parents, family and girlfriend, Lea Michelle.

    For now, I wish him love and peace.

  2. Elva Roberts says:

    July 15-Let us hope and pray that Cory will find in Heaven the happiness that seemed to be out of reach here on earth. Rest in Peace and Love, Cory.-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  3. I’ve never been a fan of Glee but I’m definitely saddened by this. He was way to young to die.

  4. Soozle says:

    I am not a Glee watcher – but this did really bother me as well. My sister actually said the same thing yesterday (though she is a show fan).. I am not sure if it is because he is SO young or what.. but it bothered me more than say hearing James Gandolfini had passed.

    It’s horrible what addiction can do to a person.. It’s so sad that the price of fame often comes with that tagged on to it in the end.

Leave a Reply

