Corporate Acts of Kindness with a Helping Hand

I’m a bit of a news geeks (translation: a HUGE news geek!) in that I like to read press releases online. It’s okay when they come to me in my email as well but I truly appreciate the ones I simply find in my news feed and then click on because they truly interest me. Generally they have a lot to do with corporations performing acts of kindness to help those who can use a helping help!

newspaper, newspapers, newsRecently, I have seen some great things taking place where companies are giving back. The greatest thing was the outpouring of support for the citizens of Alberta affected by the storms in weeks just past. I found it encouraging to see that large corporations were willing to step up and give back to those people who needed their help!

It got me thinking and, in the spirit of giving back, I wanted to tell you about some other corporate “good deeds” that I’ve run across in the past couple of days. They are doing good things and so I’m giving them a good turn by sharing them with you!

1. Moore’s is doing something that I think it totally cool — it is holding a Suit Drive to help unemployed men! I know that suits are crazy expensive and, when money is scarce, it is a tough thing to invest in! According to the information I read, With over 754,900 unemployed men across Canada, the need to help unemployed Canadian men is very real. Moores Clothing for Men, Canada’s largest specialty menswear retailer continues to assist underprivileged men seeking jobs through its annual Canadian Suit Drive….Since 2009, Moores has helped over 100,000 men facing barriers to employment through their work with over 60 recipient organizations across Canada.

How can you help??? From July 1-31, Canadians can donate their gently used men’s suits, shirts, jackets, pants, ties, belts and shoes at any of Moores over 100 stores across Canada. Collected items will go directly to local organizations providing job readiness programs for men seeking employment….For more information, visit www.canadiansuitdrive.com or check out the drive on Twitter @MooresSuitDrive and Facebook.

Spirited Toronto Blue Jays(TM) fans packed the sold out Rogers Centre for Canada Day Presented by Honda Canada, as Make-A-Wish® Canada was presented with a $15,000 donation from Honda Canada, the Ontario Honda Dealers Association and the Toronto Blue Jays. (CNW Group/Honda Canada Inc.)

Spirited Toronto Blue Jays(TM) fans packed the sold out Rogers Centre for Canada Day Presented by Honda Canada, as Make-A-Wish® Canada was presented with a $15,000 donation from Honda Canada, the Ontario Honda Dealers Association and the Toronto Blue Jays. (CNW Group/Honda Canada Inc.)

2. I’m also impressed by the way in which Honda and the Toronto Blue Jays decided to give back to Canadians on Canada Day! Part of the pre-game festivities included a cheque presentation by members of the Ontario Honda Dealers Association and the Toronto Blue Jays, to Jennifer Ritter of Make-A-Wish Canada, of a $15,000 donation! I learned that since 2010, Honda have helped raise more than $200,000 dollars in support of Make-A-Wish Canada which made me cheer! Having known a number of kids with terminal illnesses who have had their dreams come true thanks to the Make-A-Wish Canada foundation, I applaud Honda and the Blue Jays for helping to make a difference!

3. And, last (but certainly not least) I love the fact that Benjamin Moore has announced community grants to take care of places that matter! This year, the Benjamin Moore Community Restoration Program is making 23 grants totalling $72,000 – plus some $16,000 in paint – to assist with a wide range of important renovation and heritage restoration projects in communities across the country. Not only that, but I had no idea that Since its inception in 1998, the Benjamin Moore Community Restoration Program has supported more than 243 community groups in all parts of Canada with grants of more than $746,000 and $179,000 in paint donations.

Kudos to all of these companies for helping to make a difference in the lives of others!

This entry was posted in inspiration, Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Corporate Acts of Kindness with a Helping Hand

  1. Soozle says:

    I just saw an ad for this suit charity drive the other day – it really impressed me too!

    I have read stories of how hard it is for certain people, including previously homeless/homeless people to obtain jobs as they dont have anything to wear to an interview. I love the fact a program like this can give people a chance to get work, if clothing is the only thing holding them back..

  2. Shirley says:

    Thanks for introducing the meaningful programs.

  3. I never knew Honda & Toronto Blue Jays helped Make-A-Wish Canada. That’s totally awesome. Make-A-Wish Canada sent me to Disneyland as a child. One of the best memories of my life.

Leave a Reply

