Whodunnit? Who Cares? I’m off to Siberia … maybe

I swear that I generally not that critical of the programs available on tv. Generally I’m saddened because my shows got cancelled, not because I feel like the quality of a program is lacking. That being said, Whodunnit has really disappointed me! With slim pickings in terms of television viewing (unless I watch reruns but I find that boring), when I learned the premise of Whodunnit? – a murder mystery game where one player is killed off – I thought it sounded intriguing and fun. But it’s not. It’s really boring!

mystery games, murder mystery, whodunnit, whodunit

I am well aware that ‘reality tv’ involves a lot of staging (I grew up watching WWF wrestling for heaven’s sake!) but this show is ridiculously contrived! It is the most artificial reality tv I’ve ever seen. Blech!

Disappointed that week, one day I accidentally flipped to a show called Siberia. I had no idea what it was about and it appeared to be a Survivor-type program except it was set in Siberia. Hmmmm…. that’s different. Awww what the heck — I decided to watch it.

where is Siberia, Siberia

The show had an interesting premise. In 1908, all of the inhabitants of a small village in Siberia disappeared. Without a trace. The contestants were going to have to move into the village and survive through the winter. If a contestant wanted to quit, all they had to do was make a call and a helicopter would come and pick them up.

I was actually trying to figure out if this series was American or produced in the UK because the participants were from all over the globe (and personally I’ve always found UK tv to be more interesting!).

So Siberia is moving along like a typical reality tv show, though some little odd things were happening — one contestant, for example, appeared at the living area ahead of everyone but she wouldn’t say how she got there so quickly — but I just chalked it up to being an odd little quirk in the show. The first 2 contestants are eliminated when they are the last to arrive at the camp.

People are settling in, forging alliances, trying to make fire and foraging for food. Two head back to camp and one guy wanders off. Then there’s a scream — flashes of this guy being mauled by who knows what — and the show suddenly takes an entirely different turn!

I’m fascinated by this show because I feed into the concept and, unlike Whodunnit, it actually seemed somewhat realistic. They combined a number of different elements of reality tv (Survivor and The Amazing Race come to mind) but it appears this series is more Blair Witch Project than Survivor.

I’m intrigued and want to see where the show goes from here! I’m also really happy because this summer show is worth watching! (That being said, when I read some reviews, the show was slammed heavily – but I think it has potential!) You can catch Siberia on NBC on Mondays at 10 PM.

What are you watching this summer?

This entry was posted in Media, Review, tv and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Whodunnit? Who Cares? I’m off to Siberia … maybe

  1. Soozle says:

    HA! You so read my mind – I was actually discussing Siberia with a co-worker today and our exact words were: This is Survivor meets Blair Witch.

    I can’t QUITE tell if this is going to be a keeper yet.. It has potential, but COULD be cheesy!

    I really wish they would have made another season of Expedition Impossible!

  2. Florence C says:

    I did watch the first episode of Siberia did not feel the ending was believable. I am watching my regular show Coronation Street. I like Amazing Race Canada.

    • Coronation Street is my absolute favourite – I’ve been watching it for years! 🙂

      I need to do a followup post because I’m willing to admit that I was wrong about The Amazing Race Canada!

  3. Anne Taylor says:

    I am definitely going to watch this next Monday. To be honest, I haven’t even heard of it, but you have peaked my interest!!! Thanks for this. How did you like Amazing Race Canada? I thought it was ok and the prizes were great!

    thanks

  4. stacey dempsey says:

    I started watching this one but it looked kind of staged to me like they had set things up, but maybe that was supposed to be that way, I will be interested to see how you like it, if you give it a thumbs up down the road I will have to revisit it. I have been liking Under the Dome so far

  5. Elva Roberts says:

    July 18–I haven’t watched this show at all. I like really good murder mysteries like the Agatha Christie series. -I am still watching for something i can watch so may have to wait for Yukon Gold to reappear . I am also trying to find ‘Texas Storage Wars’ that I haven’t seen yet. Pretty Slim Pickings!–el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.co

  6. stephy905 says:

    I’m not that huge on reality television but I do totally agree that TV in the UK is incredibly awesome. I even listen to music from the UK.

Leave a Reply

