Coping with Emotions: Trying to Repress Feeling with Food (or Your Body and Emotions)

best chocolate, fudge

A little chocolate fudge won’t hurt, right?

The past few weeks I’ve been working hard – lots of time at the gym as well as loads of walking (so much so, in fact, that I think I got sunstroke at the end of last week) and coping with emotions that arose quite well. Overall, the past three weeks have been going incredibly well both with my exercise and my eating. As a result (surprise surprise – not!), I’ve seen some positive results on the scale. Until yesterday. There has been a lot of bad news this glazed donut, a donut, a doughnutweek that truly caught me off-guard. It made cry because I felt helpless. And I just didn’t know where to turn. Trying to repress feelings with food is a great idea right? I’ll just shovel food in my mouth all day long — incredibly unhealthy food. Yesterday, I consumed so much food, in fact, that I was up until the early hours of the morning and part of the reason I couldn’t sleep was that my stomach actually hurts really really badly (my body is PISSED OFF about what I did to it!). My body and emotions were both in turmoil.

So did I feel better for all of this crazy eating? Not in the slightest. By the end I not only continued to feel upset, but I felt guilty as well. Add the feeling that I was going to be sick to the mix and it is one crappy combination!

all fruitsToday taught me that as much I as think I’ve beaten my food demons (and I think, in the main, I truly have), they are still lurking underneath everything waiting for the chance to jump up and wreck their own form of havoc.

So when I wake up tomorrow, I don’t know if I am going to feel better about anything. The issues will still be there. That being said, I won’t be traveling this same path because trying to stuff my feelings down under a tonne of food simply doesn’t work.

Lesson learned.

This entry was posted in Life Changes, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Coping with Emotions: Trying to Repress Feeling with Food (or Your Body and Emotions)

  1. Anne Taylor says:

    You are a stronger woman than I. I have gained back all of the 75lbs that I had lost and its left me devastated and in the damn eat your feelings cycle again. I’ve done it all of my life (since I was 15) It needs to stop. Somehow I need to be stronger. Thanks for sharing; I don’t feel so alone.

    • And thank you for sharing Anne because it helps me to know I am not the only one! Anything I can do to help you, just ask! (And I do understand – this is my second time around losing this same weight as I lost it about 14 years ago then gained 1/2 of it back!).

  2. hmrcarlson says:

    You are definitely not the only one! All the women on both sides of my family have had weight problems/issues include myself and a lot relates to emotional eating. I am so scared that I will pass on my disordered eating habits to my girls who, at eight, are already facing weight issues…

  3. SOozle says:

    You definitely are not the only one.. When I am under great stress, I either have NO appetite or I stress binge eat junk.. I think MANY women suffer from this same emotional eating habit..

    Before I quit smoking, I would also smoke ALOT more in times of stress…

    So basically, I think I just don’t have the proper channel to get that nervous energy out.. and I assume more people are the same..

    Sending positive vibes your way for a better day tomorrow! ♥

  4. Elva Roberts says:

    July 24-You are most certainly not alone. I , too, react to a lot of stress by either eating too much or, if the stress is severe, not being able to eat at all. This seems to be a struggle for many of us so do not beat yourself up over a problem shared by many of us. Just inspire us by getting up and working at losing weight again. Hugs.el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  5. hmrcarlson says:

    You are definitely not alone! I come from a long line of emotional eaters and it is a struggle everyday no matter how much I wish it wasn’t to eat just for nourishment and not have some emotion attached to whatever meal/food I am ingesting. I try to think of the example I need to set for my daughters so that the cycle ends with me.

  6. hmrcarlson says:

    Hopefully, we will make it to the beach!

  7. stephy905 says:

    My mom is going through the exact same thing. It’s ok to slip sometimes. Hugs.

  8. Donnas says:

    I’ve never struggled with weight issues until my mid-forties. But I’ve learned not to ignore my cravings, I give in. By that I mean I won’t deprive myself of all that’s bad for you. If I want something sweet I’ll eat cookies (but just 1 or 2 of them) not the whole sleeve. Your body is satisfied because the craving has been sated and you know you’re not going to feel bad about having eaten only 1 or 2 cookies. Win Win

Leave a Reply

