Back to School List

Cheryl is working on her back to school list!

We are half way through summer and only weeks away from the start of school.

I have loved having my kids home with me although there have been some very long days these past few weeks.

(Just for the record - this is definitely NOT Cheryl's house!)

(Just for the record – this is definitely NOT Cheryl’s house!)

My house is a disaster zone with craft supplies all over the floor, dirty laundry piling up in the laundry room and a list of photos to print growing exponentially each day on my desktop.

It has been a fun summer. One spent outside and in and around the city. But I am tired. Exhausted, really.

I am drinking iced coffee almost daily to keep up with everything. And everyone!

I am already starting to count down to the beginning of school and am looking forward to getting back into a regular routine.

My September to do list is slowly growing.

1. Organize closets
2. Enroll in a weekly fitness class
3. Clean the kitchen
4. Sort through old toys and decide whether to toss, recycle or donate
5. Finish our 2011 family scrapbook – this one is stressing me out the most
6. Come up with a meal plan and start preparing freezer meals for those busy weeknights and weekends

Five more weeks! 35 days (give or take) left to go before I can feel peaceful and calm walking around in my own home :). And maybe I can finish reading a book too! Not Amelia Bedelia or Little Critter but my own books!

Anyone else excited for back to school? Is September a month of organization and cleaning for you? What’s on your to do list?

~Cheryl is a Canadian mom of 2 who writes a family travel blog called KidsOnAPlane.com. The blog focuses on family travel in North America and the Caribbean and covers a range of topics including Disney with kids, hotel and attraction reviews, cruising, delicious food finds and travel gear product reviews. Cheryl’s goal is to encourage parents to get out there and travel with their kids – across the globe or in their own backyard – while not losing their mind or their money!

This entry was posted in Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back to School List

  1. Anne Taylor says:

    I have to admit, I going to miss my grandkids after school starts, but I am hoping to get back into a regular healthy eating and exercising routine!

  2. Heidi C. says:

    I got the back-to-school list in the mail this week and I started to feel the need to get into organization mode. It’s hard to balance the desire to keep vacation as it is supposed to be vacation vs. tackling some of the many organizational tasks piling up at home. Sigh.

    • Tell me about it, Heidi! I’m OK with the mess the first half of the summer and usually get the urge to clean and organize as soon as I start seeing back to school shopping lists in the stores! Good luck to the both of us!

  3. Elva Roberts says:

    August 9-Dear Cheryl: I can totally relate to your chaos. My children and most of my grandchildren are adults now and the little greatgrands are here and more coming-sweet little boys and girls. I will be very happy to have summer over for all. My husband was hospitalized for surgery and , for the first time in my life, I drank cold coffee drinks to keep up my energy! He has been at home now for several weeks and is recuperating nicely. I will be happy to get in a routine with more time for exercise and not have to concentrate so much on visitors and my flowers.-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.c

  4. Wow, school started so early for you guys. School literally starts tomorrow for us!

Leave a Reply

