One Day Goal: Make a Mental List and Keep Your Eyes Peeled for a Bargain! (Fiscally Frugal Friday)

I know it has been awhile since I’ve been able to take time to breathe and talk to you about how I continue to save money. One of the best tips that I can give you is to set yourself a one day goal to make a mental list of the things you need. Then, once you have that list, it becomes a whole lot easier to keep your eyes peeled for a bargain!

With life always moving so quickly, I have sometimes made impulse purchases because it seems like such a superdeal. Once I return home, however, I find myself dealing with buyers remorse because the “superdeal” doesn’t actually meet any actually needs!

So I decided to sit down and actually think about what I needed – whether it be clothing, household items or anything else, I pondered what exactly I was looking for and what it might even look like when I found it.

It’s amazing how much easier it can make seeing a “bargain” and recognizing it truly isn’t a bargain for you! And, on the flip side, when you spot an item from your mental list of wants and needs, it is a great feeling!

An example presented itself a few weeks ago. One of the items on my mental list was something to help our place smell fresher and brighter. I knew that I wanted something with a natural scent and a sweet smell would be a definite plus.

On a trip out with a friend, she mentioned that she wanted to go into Yankee Candles. I’d never been there before so I just assumed the store had candles and that was it.

yankee candle bargainsThen I saw a display that said 75% off. And on it? A Yankee Candle Scent Light and Scent Refills. The prices were absolutely amazing and the scents were exactly what I was looking for!

bargains receiptAnd the result? As you can see from my receipt, I paid less than $20 for a Scent Light and 4 packets of Scent Refills (which last at least 1 month each). And I saved over $52!

By taking one day and making the mental list of items needed I was able to find a bargain. It’s a tactic that sounds simple but often gets overlooked and it truly can make a huge financial difference in helping you get the things you truly want!

This entry was posted in Home and Appliances, Savings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Day Goal: Make a Mental List and Keep Your Eyes Peeled for a Bargain! (Fiscally Frugal Friday)

  1. Soozle says:

    Good for you! $52 savings? Bargain indeed! 😀

    Like you said – the trick is to KNOW what you are truly needing verses buying someone for the sole reason it is on sale and not truly having use for it – that is where I sometimes struggle. This time of year with all of the summer goodies clearing out VERY fast – it’s hard to NOT buy buy buy because it’s on sale!

  2. Anne Taylor says:

    I love finding great bargains! Actual needs and wants are very different things. I agree with keeping a list, it comes in very handy!

  3. Ira says:

    I had to start a simple chart (types and sizes) of the clothes I bought for my kids ahead of time because I can’t keep it in my head anymore. And I don’t want to end up with 25 t-shirts of one size or having to buy something for the full price because I need it right now.

  4. Elva Roberts says:

    August 19-What a wonderful idea, Maggie! It sure makes sense to be prepared for sales of the items you really want in your life. I think I will copy a wonderful idea and make a list myself myself. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

