Hawaiian Tropic – The Reviews are IN (and we have a winner!)

Last month a number of readers were given the opportunity to try Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration Sunscreen Lotion and Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration Sunscreen Lotion and then share their thoughts. They had a lot of great things to say — here are their thoughts (in no particular order):

As a person with fair skin who works outside I rely on sunscreen to complete my professional responsibilities. I exclusively use sunscreen with dual UVA and UVB protection and was glad to see that Hawaiian Tropic’s sunscreen lotion has both. The texture of the sunscreen is unlike any other I’ve tried. It is simultaneously rapidly absorbing and moisturizing leaving neither an oily residue nor a dry paste (both of which I have experienced with other products.) Since it must be reapplied every two hours I really appreciated how quick and easy the product was to apply. I used the sunscreen on my hands and neck but have rather oily skin that doesn’t need additional moisturizing in the summer so I didn’t apply it to my face. I really appreciate the added moisturize in the sunscreen lotion as working outside with soil rapidly dries out my skin. Fortunately, the sunscreen lotion was easy to easily apply and I didn’t miss any spots that would require the application of the after sun moisturizer. Despite not being burnt the smell of the Silk Hydration After Sun Moisturizer appealed to me and I applied it over my legs and arms. This product also has a lovely, silky feel but rapidly absorbs and doesn’t leave the skin feeling greasy. I really like the visual effect of the ribbons in both products. The aloe in the After Sun Moisturizer left my skin feeling cool and moisturized. ~Kaitlin Schott

I had a chance to try the sunblock and moisturizer over the weekend, and I have to say I love them! I have always loved the smell of Hawaiian Tropic over many other brands. I liked how when I applied it on my arms it didn’t feel like I was putting on wax! I prefer sunblocks that go on smooth like a lotion :) I am not a big fan of aloe gel although I have bought and used it on my trips, and it is awesome if you have a burn! What I don’t like about it is the fact that when you use aloe gel it makes your skin feel sticky. I think because the aloe gel has an infusion of mango and shea butter it gives it more of a lotion feel than just gel! After I came in from the sun on Sunday all I could smell was the smell if the Hawaiian Tropic and I loved it!! :) ~Susan Wilson

Using the Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration for our trip to the beach proved to be easier then anticipated. Much to my surprise, unlike many other sunblocks, the Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration went on very easily. I had no issues rubbing it in and my skin didn’t get that ‘greasy/slick’ feel about it. We re-applied every 2 hours as per the directions and were very please at the lack of mess created as well.

We used the Silk Hydration After Sun moisturizer when we returned home. The aloe inside gave my skin a very nice cool feel, the moisturizer soaked in and immediately began to make my skin feel soft and smooth again.

The next day, my skin felt great!! I didn’t have that day after dry, coarse feel that I normally have after spending a day at the beach! We are hooked! ~Darlene

After  I received the Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration Sunscreen Lotion and After Sun Moisturizer  I waited until there was a sunny day and I had the occasion to use both products before writing a review. I am already a fan of Hawaiian Tropic so it wasn’t hard to convince myself to use these products. The Sunscreen has the common smell of sunscreen with a lovely non-overwhelming smell of coconut. It is very easy to apply as it is light and non-greasy (which is important for me, as I tend to have oily skin). It has 30 SPF and keeps your skin moisturized, even though you’re under the sun, for twelve hours the bottle says. When the sunset showed itself, I applied the After Sun Moisturizer. It is made of aloe gel, but the smell was really awesome. It has a sweet fruity smell of mango and papaya, which makes this product very wearable. But what I really loved about it, is how soft and comfortable my skin was after using this product. The bottle says 24h of moisturization, and I would believe it, because my skin felt so soft. These 2 products together are really the key to a perfect sunny day. I would definitely buy them, and I recommend it to everyone! ~Karine G.

Hawaiian Tropic Silk HydrationI really love the silk hydration sunscreen. It smells nice and feels nice. I even tried it on my 4 year old who always fights sunscreen. He seemed to like it to and even let me reapply it without a fight. It really doesn’t feel like sunscreen but we did not get a sunburn so i guess it works *lol*. I will definitely buy this again and would definitely recommend it. As for the after sun moisturizer it feels nice and smells nice but i doubt i would buy it. To me it was just another nice smelling lotion and I don’t really use lotion. I don’t have dry skin. that being said i am wondering i this would be a good product to use ater a sunburn but really don’t want to get a sunburn before using again *lol*. ~Francine Allain

 I really enjoyed using both the Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration Sunscreen Lotion and After Sun Moisturizer.The Sunscreen Lotion had such a nice fresh scent and was very easy to apply to my skin, it absorbed very quickly, yet did not leave my skin feeling greasy. After applying it, my skin felt very soft and smooth and smelled great! It almost didn’t even feel like I was applying a sunscreen, it was more like an all over body moisturizer. I love the fact that it blocks out harmful UVA and UVB rays with it’s SPF 30 rating. The After Sun Moisturizer also had a nice scent, absorbed very well and quickly, and left my skin feeling silky and smooth after applying it. It lasted a really long time too, I put it on after an afternoon at the beach and my skin still felt nice and smooth and moisturized the next morning. Overall I was very pleased with both of these products and plan to continue using them and would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends! ~Lyndsay

What a perfect pair! I really liked them both a lot. They both had great light scents. You could smell them on you for hours later but it was not too over-powering. The sunscreen kept you moisturized the whole time it was on, even out in the sun. I was out in the sun a few hours and didn’t burn. When I came in I used the After Sun Moisturizer and it felt great. The next morning I could still feel the softness and silkiness where I had applied it. Both of them are really great products. ~Gizele

 I received these products in the mail this morning and decided it would be a great afternoon to go down to the beach and look for sea glass.  I was pretty covered up, but the back of my shoulders, neck, face and legs were exposed. My first impression of the Silk Hydration Sunscreen Lotion was the fragrance!  It was beautiful and reminded me of a long late afternoon on the beach.  It was a delicious floral/coconutty scent, not overpowering at all. The Silk Hydration Sunscreen Lotion had a smooth texture, it wasn’t sticky, or gummy and went on my skin very easily.  My skin drank it up almost immediately! After an afternoon of hunting for sea glass I had my husband put the Silk Hydration After Sun Moisturizer on my shoulders and neck!  Omgosh, it felt immediately cooler and really toned down the heat of my skin!  It went on super smoothly and glided effortlessly when applying. The scent of this product was a tad too strong for me.  I love the actual scent, but if it were just a tad toned down I would have loved it even more! My hands weren’t sticky or greasy after applying either of these products; they were easy to apply and worked very well.  I really enjoyed trying these out! ~Anne

I loved both the sunscreen and the follow-up moisturizer. Both were very easy to apply and a little went a long way. The scents were fragrant but not overpowering.  When I perspired, I noticed that my eyes did not sting as they had with other sunscreens  when perspiration ran down my face in the really hot summer sun we experienced this summer.  Since I has already begun a tan when I received the lotions, I already had a problem with my skin. The area below my neck and chest was red with sunburn, which i had received while wearing sleeveless, v-necked tees during the very hot summer days. Nothing I put on relieved the sunburn or turned it into a nice tan, in spite of all the different brand name moisturizers I applied. After a few days of applying these two Hawaiian Tropic products, especially the Coconut silk Hydration after -sun screen, I found that slowly my sunburn is fading into a nice brown tan.  I am really happy that this Hawaiian Tropic product is helping relieve the discomfort and  embarrassing look of a large area of skin below my chin and extending into my chest area. For these reasons I would recommend the use of these two products as I feel they both moisturize and heal my skin.  ~Elva

hawaiian-Tropic-logoThe summer in my neck of the woods, like most places across Canada this year, has not been that hot for the most part. I was worried I wouldn’t get an accurate test with the cloudy, cooler temperatures; BUT, mother nature has decided to give us a blast of REAL summer temperatures and sun in the past few days! Hooray!

My first impression of the Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration 30SPF sunscreen was that it smelled AMAZING! The smell just screams of the beach and summer! I really liked the consistency of the lotion – it was thick enough to not be runny, but thin enough that it absorbed quickly into the skin without having to spend a long time trying to rub it in. Once on, it didn’t feel greasy in the least – always a bonus in my books. My skin felt nicely moisturized as well. After spending time outside walking in the sun? The lotion seemed to stand up to the sunscreen test of protection as I didn’t notice any redness to my skin.

After coming inside, I tried the Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration After Sun Moisturizer. My impression? I could tell from the consistency that there was aloe in the product, but it also absorbed very quickly and easily into my skin. This product also did not leave a greasy feel/look & smelled AMAZING! Hours after using the product, my skin STILL felt soft & moisturized – very much a keeper in my books!

I have normally used store, budget brand lotions but have found a new favorite in these products! ~Soozle

Thank you for giving me the chance to test out Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration sunscreen and after sun moisturizer. I love how the sunscreen immediately absorbed into my skin, leaving no greasy feel, and a nice light scent. I have not had the chance to try the after sun moisturizer on myself because I have been forcing my boyfriend to use it (LOL). He is a landscaper and is out in the sun all day and he will not wear sunscreen. His ears were starting to look dry and crusted, so I decided to test the after sun moisturizer on him whether he liked it or not! I’ve been applying it on his ears, neck and shoulders, and his ears are starting to heal up nicely. :) I really liked the scent and I enjoyed being able to give my boyfriend some attention after a long day at work. I’m still trying to get him to put on sun screen…wish me luck!  I really enjoyed getting to try these great products and I think they are definitely worth investing in. Thanks again! ~Ashley Jordan

The Sunscreen –The first thing I noticed was the smell. As soon as the cap was opened, I was pleasantly surprised to smell this amazing aroma of coconut. Not similar to the typical odd smelling lotions out there. When I started applying it and rubbing it in, I was so impressed by how lightweight the lotion felt on my hands and while spreading it. My pet peeve is greasy things on my hands so I was reluctant to put it on in the first place. It didn’t leave a greasy residue and it absorbed into my skin so quickly. The moisturizing aspect felt truly luxurious – my skin became so soft to touch. The sunscreen also seemed to do well throughout a swimming trip to the pool. My daughter tried it out with me and it seemed to survive our wet excursion. She continued to smell delightful into the later afternoon. I haven’t ever used a sunscreen that felt as good as this one did on my super-dry skin.

The After-Sun Lotion — Again, the scent was perfect and I wouldn’t mind smelling that way for the afternoon. This product spread just as easy on my skin and immediately I felt an amazing cooling sensation that would definitely provide relief for After-sun situations. The moisturizer component felt smooth and hydrating (for lack of a better word). I would definitely recommend the pair for anyone who ventures outdoors through the summer. They met all my expectations and more. ~Andie

We had a chance to try both products this weekend and were very pleased with the results!  Living in the Okanagan we are exposed to a lot of heat and sun throughout summer, as well as working outdoors for a living.  We, of course, loved the smell of the Hawaiian Tropic right away, but found the lotion was not sticky like most sunscreen and went on smooth like cream would.  It protected our skin throughout the day and we didn’t have to worry about re-applying every hour.  Once we were home for the day, it was nice to try the After Sun Moisturizer on our skin as it hydrated our skin and wasn’t sticky.  I would highly recommend both products to anyone who needs a reliable sunscreen and moisturizing lotion! ~Tanis

I received Hawaiian Tropic Sunscreen Lotion and After Sun Moisturizer for review and I loved them from first use. Hawaiian Tropic Sunscreen lotion is awesome; it is easily absorbed, protects your skin and smells incredible. I used the lotion during sunny days and I got a nice tan with healthy beautiful skin. I also applied after sun moisturizer after being hours outside, such a treat to sooth the skin and make it silky. There is still time to enjoy summer time, and I am glad  I continue to do that with Hawaiian Tropic. ~Fan

The Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration Sunscreen Lotion absorbs into my skin quickly and leaves it feeling soft and moisturized. There’s no greasy feeling! I love how light it feels on my skin. It’s a product that I look forward to using everyday! My favorite part is the scent – a perfect blend that makes me think of a tropical island.

The Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration After Sun Moisturizer looks really cool with the ribbons of aloe and lotion. It goes on thick but quickly blends into the skin, leaving it feeling cool and nice. The fruity scent is long-lasting and relaxing.

These two products together leave me with soft, healthy skin that smells amazing! I will continue to use them both. ~Jonnie

I was very excited when I received my Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration SPF 30 Sunscreen Lotion AND Silk Hydration After Sun moisturizer!

I decided to use the sunscreen lotion on a day when I would be spending the whole time outside. We were having a family get together outside at a park on a very sunny day. I burn easily so I was little worried. The first thing I noticed was the scent, which I loved, reminding me of days at the beach and summer. I put it on a half hour before going outside, and reapplied four more times that day. The feeling was great, sinking into my skin and not leaving any greasy feeling. By the end of the day, it took a little longer to sink in and not have the greasy feeling, but not bad after four times of use.

I was thrilled with the results. At the end of the day I didn’t burn and in fact got a little colour which never happens with me. I usually am only pale or burned. I was really impressed. That night I used the after sun moisturizer and liked it as well. I used it for a couple of days and didn’t get any dry skin or peeling. I was also impressed because I usually don’t like moisturizers because I find they make my skin oily. This did not.

Over all, I have to say I am a convert to Hawaiian Tropic. I will gladly use this product in the future because it really works for me. ~Beth

Of the 20 winners, 16 chose to submit a review and each one was assigned a number. The lucky winner of the Visa gift card is (drum roll please!)…… Karine G!

Congratulations Karine and thanks again to everyone for sharing their thoughts!

This entry was posted in Beauty, Review, Winners and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hawaiian Tropic – The Reviews are IN (and we have a winner!)

  1. Anne Taylor says:

    This was alot of fun to do! Congratulations go out to Karine!!

Leave a Reply

