Simply 7 Gluten-Free Hummus, Lentil and Pomegranate Healthy Snacks

I feel like one of my unofficial jobs, since working to lose weight and adapt a healthier lifestyle, is to help find healthy, tasty snacks for my mom (who has lost 10 pounds to date – way to go Mom!) and my cousin who keeps struggling to find gluten-free products that actually taste good! I have to admit, as I was looking at healthy alternatives I’d never thought of hummus, lentil or pomegranate based healthy snacks until I encountered So Simply 7! I was interested to find out what they had to offer and how their products tasted!

simply 7 logo

Simply 7 is a quite unique — while they provide a “chip-type” experience, their products have a much different base than traditional potatoes based on 7 core principles (hence their name – get it?).

Simply 7 philosophy

Final Simply 7 philosophy

Simply 7 has 11 different varieties of snacks — 3 flavours of Pomegranate Chips, 4 flavours of Hummus Chips and 4 flavours of Lentil Chips. With a lot of chips to try, my mom and my cousin were happy to share their thoughts!

tomato basil hummus chipsAcross the board, the favourite type of chip is the Hummus Chips. I thought they had the consistency of a corn chip and would make an amazing dipping chip! I liked the Tomato Basil flavour the best. My cousin (who can handle spicy better than I can!) liked the Spicy Chili Pepper while my mom enjoyed the Sea Salt flavour most. While I appreciated all of the flavours (even the Spicy Chili Pepper!) I was disappointed with the Roasted Red Pepper flavour. While the chips were good, they didn’t have a roasted red pepper flavour — they were very similar to the Sea Salt variety. I would love a strong Roasted Red Pepper flavour and hopefully they will come out with one in the future!

The Lentil Chips got a mixed review. We all agreed that while we did love them, we didn’t hate them either. Of the Lentil Chips, we also agreed that the best flavour is the Creamy Dill Lentil Chips.
Pomegranate Chips White CheddarAnd my mom absolutely adored the Pomegranate Chips! I have to admit that the idea of White Cheddar Pomegranate Chips didn’t appeal to me so I wasn’t looking forward to trying them. Once I tried them, however, I found that I liked the rippled design, the super crisp texture and the balance between the natural sweetness of the pomegranate and the rich salty flavour of the white cheddar. My mom said she loved all of the flavours and really wants to get herself some more!

Overall, Simply 7 chips provide a tasty, healthy, unique range of products! For anyone who loves chickpeas or hummus, I would highly recommend the Hummus Chips in particular as well as the Pomegranate White Cheddar Chips!

(And if you want some tasty snack ideas, including Hummus and Dill Dip, check out the Simply 7 recipes section!)

This entry was posted in Food, gluten-free and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Simply 7 Gluten-Free Hummus, Lentil and Pomegranate Healthy Snacks

  1. Soozle says:

    Oh wow! These sound AMAZING! 😀 I am always looking for a healthier snack, as NOT snacking is just not a reality for me, and looking at the nutritional info on their site at 150 cals for a serving, they fit that bill!

  2. I am not on a gluten-free diet because I have this impression that food is not that good gluten-free, however, the hummus chips sounds delicious ! i love hummus and chips!

  3. Anne Taylor says:

    These sound really good and super tasty! I’ve not yet seen these products but I’ll keep my eyes open for sure! Thanks!

  4. Elva Roberts says:

    September 9-Thank you for giving us information about these healthy snacks. I will be on the lookout for them. I love pomegranite so will probably try those first. -el03ro
    e.m. roberts@hotmail.com

  5. Judy C (Cowan) says:

    These sound great and finding new healthy snacks is always nice. Would love to try the hummus chips

  6. Elva Roberts says:

    December 13-I reread this post and I have decided I will have to look for these snacks. They really sound delicious.

  7. loriag says:

    I am interested in the Pomegranate White Cheddar Chips, they sound awesome.

  8. mrdisco1 says:

    those are some good tips

  9. hmrcarlson says:

    These sound delicious! I would love to try the pomegranate chips!

  10. mrdisco1 says:

    It’s amazing, in a bad way, how much sugar is hidden in our foods

  11. loucheryl says:

    I would love to try this chips. They look amazingly tasty!!!

  12. Donnas says:

    I don’t have dietary concerns, but it is so nice to see so many new gluten-free, additive-free, preservative-free products on the market now.

Leave a Reply

