TV links to realism with Homeland Season 2

As I wander in and out of the lunchroom, I often hear my co-workers discussing various series that I have yet to watch. While a part of knows I’d probably adore some of these shows, the information shared by colleagues has never peaked my interest enough (and for those of you who stop by often, you know my TV schedule is pretty full!) to watch them. But then one day, when I actually sat down at the lunch table, I heard them talking about Homeland  — though it was a discussion of Homeland Season 2, I was instantly intrigued! The thought of a fictional series where tv links to realism – especially in these times of war and intrigue, really got my attention!

First off, the premise of a returned soldier who had been a POW named Nicholas Brody who was believed to be dead was interesting. Add to that the fact that Brody or may not be a convert who is now a terrorist and you’ve got me on the edge of my seat!

So when Season 1 of the series started on Bravo earlier this year, I started watching and I Homeland Season 2, Claire Danes, Damian Lewiswas hooked! There are so many amazing actors – including Claire Danes (think My So-Called Life) who plays Carrie Mathison,  a CIA agent who thinks that Brody is a spy but has her own demons to face as she hides her bi-polar disorder, Mandy Patinkin (who has starred in many amazing things including Criminal Minds, Dead Like Me and Chicago Hope but, to me, will always be Inigo Montoya from The Princess Bride!) who plays Carrie Mathison’s mentor and Morena Baccarin (who scared the heck out of me in V and made my husband swoon in Stargate SG-1) who plays Brody’s wife who had moved on with her life and now tries to deal with a man she often no longer recognizes.

And, in the centre of everything is the actor who plays Nicholas Brody, Damian Lewis. Apart from being incredibly handsome, he has tremendous acting skills — so much so, in fact, that I never would have thought he was British because his American accent is flawless!

By the end of Season 1, I was enthralled and couldn’t wait to see Season 2.

And now my wish has been granted because Homeland: Season 2 was released on DVD and Blu-ray September 10th and I was counting the hours until I could snuggle in and watch it!

Now that I know where things are going, I’m not going to tell but if you haven’t seen it you should because you won’t be disappointed!

This entry was posted in dvd, Media, Review, tv and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TV links to realism with Homeland Season 2

  1. Anne Taylor says:

    I LOVE Homeland! Bravo showed the first season this last year and my husband and I are hooked! In my opinion, its one of the best shoes on tv today!

  2. Elva Roberts says:

    September 17-I have not watched Homeland but, after your review, I think i will take a look at it. There are not that many good shows, in my opinion, so a really good one would be welcome. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

