New TV Show TV Guide (Part 2)

Earlier this week I started looking at the Fall TV lineup and shared my thoughts on the questionable new tv shows that I’d looked at. Later this week I’m going to have a look what I believe will be the best tv shows this fall but I also want to take a moment to share what I believe will be the worst new tv shows.

And the big question will be — do you agree or disagree? I’m interested in hearing what you think!

(You may notice I’m not going to share when these shows will be launched because I think they should be avoided like the plague!)

To me, these should be labeled The Most Baffling Shows this Season!

KEVIN BISHOP, KELEN COLEMAN, LIZA LAPIRA, REBEL WILSON, LAUREN ASH

Super Fun Night truly sounds like Super DUMB night! The premise of the show is “Kimmie…and her two best friends…worry that their Friday-night tradition (staying home in their pajamas) will be threatened when Kimmie gets a big promotion at her law firm and is invited to a party by the cute transfer from the London office…. It’s time to take Super Fun Night on the road!” And while I hesitate to ask — who the heck is Rebel Wilson? She scares me!  I don’t think there’s any fun in this show — it wins my vote for the fastest series to be cancelled!

I just discovered that there is a new series called About A Boy that will be airing on NBC this fall. The series is based on a movie that is based on a book by Nick Hornsby. Now I’ve read the book, and I’ve seen the movie and I enjoyed both. But the idea of turning it into a sitcom just strikes me as bizarre because About A Boy is much more than slapstick jokes! I’m going to give it a pass!
Apparently NBC has lost the plot a bit recently because they are also launching a series called American Dream Builders this fall. While I love reality tv, the thought of watching a show where “Two teams of designers, builders, architects and landscapers compete head-to-head each week on extreme home renovations. The transformations will be judged by a panel of experts including Nate Berkus, who also serves as host. The losing team will send home a player each week leading up to the live finale, when a winner is crowned and two homes will be given away to two lucky viewers” is too much even for me. PASS!

And ABC is no better in some respects! They are launching Mixology which will be set in a Manhattan bar and will be a comedy that focuses on the exploits of singles in search of love. I think it could sound cute but it almost sounds sleezy so I think I’ll pass!

cartoon, animated
Oh Fox – what are you thinking? They are launching an animated series called Murder Police that looks like a cop version of Family Guy (though they have a guy on a scooter instead of a man in a wheelchair). Better luck next time guys!

And the saddest series because I think it is going to be short-lived despite at least one amazing actor in the cast is Fox’s Gang Related. It sounds like a reversal of the idea of an undercover cop. Instead, a gang member infiltrates the San Francisco Police Department. WHAT? It just sounds stupid to me. And the reason it makes me sad is that one of my favourite actors — Terry O’Quinn (who rose to fame on Lost) — struck out last season with 666 Park Avenue and I am afraid that his talent can’t save Gang Related.

Surviving Jack, Christopher Meloni
I thought I’d seen the saddest series but Surviving Jack wins an honourable mention in this category. This bland-sounding comedy (drama? I’m not even sure what type of show this it because it’s so nondescript!) starts Christopher Meloni – who many will remember as an incredibly talented actor from his role on Law and Order: SVU for many seasons. I don’t think even his talent is going to save this show!

The concept behind CBS’ Reckless has me making sure I change the channel. While I appreciate law shows (they are, in fact, some of my favourite series!) and I like political intrigue and sex (Scandal is one of my guilty pleasures), I think I’ve had my fill and don’t need another one of these shows in my week.

Undateable - Season Pilot

And ABC’s Trophy Wife – a series where a new wife deals with her husband’s two ex-wives and manipulative kids? No thanks! And they can share a space with NBC whose decided to produce a show called Undateable. Are you kidding me?

Us & Them, about a long-distance romance, had me right until they said it was based on the UK series Gavin&Stacey. The track record of US shows based on UK series is REALLY low so I don’t even want to bother!

So while I think there are some amazing shows lined up for this season (that I’ll share later in the week), my gut tells me to run run run away from these programs!

Let me know what you think! Am I right – or do you think I’ve missed the mark?

This entry was posted in Media, Review, tv and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New TV Show TV Guide (Part 2)

  1. Soozle says:

    These do sound terrible – other than the previews for Trophey Wife looked like it MAY not be horrible – but just barely 🙂

    I’m glad to see more comedies coming out though – it seemed like EVERY new show was drama/reality in the past few years!

  2. Anne Taylor says:

    I actually love Rebel Wilson! I’ll have to wait to see the show to see if I like it, but her, Rebel Wilson is funny as hell!

    The rest of your list today sounds totally forgettable !

  3. Elva Roberts says:

    September 18- I have read your reviews of these new shows and I am quite sure I will ‘Pass’ on all of them. I will be watching Masterpiece theatre, Yukon gold and Storage wars-but, at least, they are interesting and even entertaining. Thanks for the info on these shows as it saves me the bother of watching them for a few minutes!-el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  4. the Program creators for Super Fun Night are Conan O’Brien and Rebel Wilson? Yes! Love these two. they are hilarious!

  5. BobbiJo Pentney says:

    I think Rebel Wilson will be unpredictable, and I cannot wait to see. However after the kids go to bed.

Leave a Reply

