It’s just fun-sized, right? Halloween Candy Calorie Counter

The other day I went to a meeting and the organizer, who was trying to be sweet (pardon the pun!) decided to bring along some of those lovely little “fun sized” halloween chocolate candies. There were many different types to choose from and I kept staring at them and doing everything I could not to eat them. And do you know what the voice in my head was saying? “It’s okay. They’re just fun-sized so they really shouldn’t have many calories!” Luckily I decided not to give into temptation because when I did some research and became a Halloween Candy Calorie Counter (my self-proclaimed her job title, I swear – I love how it sounds!) I realized that I had just ducked the big diet derail!

candy, sweet, chocolat

Now, realistically, having one fun-sized bit of chocolate shouldn’t make a difference, right? Yep, that would be great if I could limit myself to eating just one! Unfortunately I know myself to well and 1 treat would become 2….3….5….7…. I mean they are fun-sized, right?

So how do these candies break down? Oh I think you might be in for a bit of a shock!

As obvious as it might sound, some candy has less calories than others. So which ones are at the lower end?

Well choosing an individual-sized Tootsie Roll seem to be a solid choice because each Mini-Midgees has only 11 calories, while a Midgee has 23 calories and a small bar has 50 calories. Pretty sweet right? (I know – that was a bad pun – but I couldn’t help myself!)

Hershey’s Miniature Bars (mixed) have an average of 42 calories per bar while Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Fun-Sized Bars have 67 calories each.

A Three Musketeers bar in the Fun-Size has 64 calories.

jellybean, jellybeans, jelly beans, jelly, candy, sweet, sweets

And looking for some sweet loving? Try jelly beans – at only 5 calories a piece, they are a great idea (unless you are like me and will likely eat 100 – which would equal 500 calories!)

And at the higher end of the spectrum? Unfortunately we have quite a few. Eat 3 of these and you likely could have eaten a full-sized bar for the calories you’ve consumed!

I’m a sucker for M&Ms, but I learned that 1 packaged of Plain, Fun-Sized M&Ms have 88 calories while M&M Peanut in the Fun-Sized bag have 93 calories each!

A Fun-Sized Kit Kat bar has 73 calories, while a Snickers Bar has 80 calories in its Fun-Sized portion.

And my favourite of all time – Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups – have 100 calories per single sized serving!

Now I’m not saying that you shouldn’t enjoy candy! I’m just suggesting that you may want to truly engage in moderation. Or, if you are a food addict with a sweet tooth, like I am, just say no to candy this Halloween season!

This entry was posted in Food, Life Changes, Weight Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to It’s just fun-sized, right? Halloween Candy Calorie Counter

  1. Soozle says:

    Most are pretty decent calorie wise for a treat – I like them as I can eat a single one (which takes control heh) and still curb that sugar craving! The challenge is to not go overboard as they are so small…

  2. When you start counting your calories you learn quickly what’s in each item you are eating and when you only have 1200 calories to eat in a day 70 calories on a not so satisfying little treat that only leaves you craving more is not worth it! Good for you for making the healthy choice! 🙂

  3. Anne Taylor says:

    I’ve been good this year and haven’t had any Halloween candy! I’ve done my best to keep it away from our house! It really adds up and I can eat a ton of it unfortnately!

  4. Cheryl Grandy says:

    I stayed away from the Halloween candy until the Trick-or-Treaters were finished. Then I had “just one.” Big mistake!
    I guess the trick is to keep candy out of the house so I don’t eat it; and the treat is that then I won’t gain weight.
    Good luck to all of us on our weight control journey!

  5. Elizabeth Matthiesen says:

    Heavens, little they may but oh oh do they pack a punch. I am glad that I don’t like Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups!

  6. Elva Roberts says:

    December 10- Maggie, you have certainly given us something to think about! I had no idea how many calories each of these ‘Treat’ contained. I also know I would most probably not stop at one and, for the first time I can remember, I did not eat even on on Hallowe’en night! I know now that I can do it if I put my mind to it. el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com.

  7. Judy C (Judy Cowan) says:

    We did buy some of these this year when they were on clearance but I have been good and only allow myself one a day as a treat. Proud of my will power so far 🙂

  8. loucheryl says:

    Those are some crazy calories for such tiny candies! Something to think about!

  9. mrdisco1 says:

    Every bite truly counts!

  10. Heidi C. says:

    At least, if you are able to manage to eat only 1 or 2 of these bite-sized treats then they can be really consider as treats :).

  11. Donnas says:

    Good to know because I tend to eat a lot of the small bars, unaware of how many calories I was consuming.

Leave a Reply

