Gay Lea Brings Butter Love – and a whole lot more! (Recipes)

Growing up, there were some things that were staples in my parent’s home — so much so, in fact, that I could go over and open their fridge (which, I hate to admit, but I will likely do cheddar-and-apple-buttermilk-sconesas a reflex when we celebrate Christmas at their home!) and find an assortment of Gay Lea products. From butter to cottage cheese to sour cream, I love the diversity of Gay Lea products. And, for an amateur cook and baker like myself, it helps if there are some great recipes for products too! Luckily, Gay Lea has a Meat Lasagnagreat website full of amazing recipe ideas. I recently made some of Gay Lea’s Own Shortbread and I think they turned out really well! I can’t wait to share them over Christmas (if there are any left of course!). In the future I think I’m going to some of their other recipes such as their Cheddar and Apple Buttermilk Scones and Mamma Mia! Meat Lasagna!

Happy holidays! If you need me I might be in the corner munching in these shortbreads!

shortbreads

Gay Lea’s Own Shortbread

Ingredients

2 cups GAY LEA – Unsalted Butter, softened
1 cup Fruit Or Granulated Sugar
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
3 cups All Purpose Flour
1 cup Cornstarch Or Rice Flour
1 tsp Salt

shortbread recipe

Instructions

Using electric mixer, beat butter until very creamy. Gradually beat in sugar, beating until very light and fluffy. Beat in vanilla. In separate bowl, combine flour, cornstarch and salt. In four additions, using a wooden spoon, stir flour mixture into butter mixture, stirring well between each addition. Transfer dough to floured surface; knead gently for 3 minutes until shortbread holds together well. Divide into three balls. Wrap each ball with plastic wrap; flatten into discs and refrigerate for 1 hour. 

Remove plastic wrap from one piece of dough. Flour work surface well and knead dough lightly for 30 seconds. Re-flour surface and top of dough. Roll out dough until 1/4” (5 mm) thick, constantly rotating to make sure it’s not sticking to the surface and lightly dusting the top of the dough with flour. Cut out shapes, using a cookie cutter.

Preheat oven to 325F (160C)

Transfer to parchment paper-lined cookie sheets. Chill for 30 minutes or up to 8 hours. Repeat with remaining chilled dough. Re-roll scraps only once, dusting with flour as necessary. 

Prick each cookie twice with fork tines. Bake in centre of oven for about 15 minutes or until dough is firm and underside is lightly golden. Cool on pan on racks. Transfer to racks to cool completely.

Makes 4-1/2 dozen cookies.

This entry was posted in Family fun, Food, Photography, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Gay Lea Brings Butter Love – and a whole lot more! (Recipes)

  1. Soozle says:

    Mmmm 🙂 Shortbread is always a staple in my home (and I think many homes) for Christmas.. such an easy recipe, but so tasty 🙂

    I have never heard of using rice flour though… I am not even sure Ive seen it in stores (but haven’t looked)

  2. Elva Roberts says:

    I haven’t used Gay Lea Butter before but these Shortbread cookies are very similar to the ‘Scotch Cookies’ I make every Christmas Season. They are also made with butter and are very delicious.
    el03ro
    e.m.roberts@hotmail.com

  3. nenasinclair says:

    Yum, it’s just not Christmas without shortbread cookies!

  4. Vesper Meikle says:

    I love shortbread, and make mine from a recipe from my Scottish mother-in-law

  5. Elizabeth Matthiesen says:

    These look delightful. We bake a lot of Christmas cookies in December and we will definitely be trying out this recipe too. I’ve never used Gay Lea butter but I am a butter lover so I will test that out too 🙂

  6. Judy C says:

    We love Gay Lea products in this house too! Thanks for sharing this recipe, will have to give it a try. The recipe I used before Christmas didn’t work out .

  7. loriag says:

    I don’t think I have tried Gay Lea butter. Those short bread cookies look so good.

  8. loucheryl says:

    I’m a huge short bread cookie fan! I want one right now.

  9. hmrcarlson says:

    I definitely have to try these cookies. They look delicious!

  10. mrdisco1 says:

    i so love butter. these sound delish!

  11. Donnas says:

    I use Gay Lea butter a lot, especially at Christmas when I do more baking than usual. And I absolutely love shortbread cookies.

  12. mrdisco1 says:

    best part about butter is that it’s good for you

Leave a Reply

