Ain’t Misbehavin’ Review

How many times have you had to deal with a difficult situation with a child and said to yourself, “I wish I had something to help me here!” I know I have been in that position myself and it can be really tough!

Ain’t Misbehavin’: Tactics for Tantrums, Meltdowns, Bedtime Blues and Other Perfectly Normal Kid Behaviour, is a new book by by Alyson Schafer. It is a book designed for parents who are tired of parenting theory and don’t have the time to read an entire book. This book allows parents to be able to flip to a specific page that tells them how to handle a situation or behaviour.

“Parenting expert Alyson Schafer has heard it all from the parents she’s worked with – tantrums, whining, sulking, cheating, lying, crying – and in her newest book, she shows parents how to stop flipping between being too firm and too permissive, but rather striking theright balance of respective yet effective with their discipline.”

When I read the preface of the book, I was immediately engaged in what Schafer had to say. I found it interesting to read about her own background and how her experiences had brought her to write two other parenting books and eventually led her to write Ain’t Misbehavin’.

I also thought the layout of the book as really smart and sensible, given the fact that when a moment strikes where Ain’t Misbehavin’ is a great reference point, you don’t want to be digging through a book trying to find some ideas when a meltdown is taking place in front of your eyes! For each small section (for example, Crying [p. 14], Refuses to Wash Hands [p. 61] and Won’t Take Medicine [p. 148]), Schafer provides a brief explanation on “Understanding the Problem” as well as section on “Solutions” that provides a variety of ideas. In some sections, she also tackles “But What If…” as well as some “Long Term Strategy” areas for complex issues.

I’m really glad that I’ve had the chance to read and utilize Ain’t Misbehavin’! The concepts are solid and provide a variety of solutions to common issues we all experience with children. I like that she also provides some sections in topic such as “It Worked For Us” where other parents have written about which strategy worked for them and how they used it, as well as some Sample Scripts of how you can approach a child in a certain situation and phrase your thoughts (something I particularly like because, in some situations, when your mind is scattered because you are dealing with an issue, it is great to have a sample script to help you gather your thoughts and focus them!). I appreciate Ain’t Misbehavin’ and I plan to share it with some of my friends as well because I think they’d also like this book!

You can also read more about Ain’t Misbehavin’ on Alyson Schafer’s site.

 

This entry was posted in Books, Giveaway, Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

172 Responses to Ain’t Misbehavin’ Review

  1. Following on Twitter as @mommygiveaways.

  2. Your button is on my blog sidebar. #1

  3. Your button is on my blog sidebar. #2

  4. Your button is on my blog sidebar. #3

  5. Your button is on my blog sidebar. #4

  6. Your button is on my blog sidebar. #5

  7. cheryl h says:

    I’d like to win a copy of this book so I can give it to my daughter who has a 3 yr old.

  8. Kristi S says:

    I would love to have a quick reference guide for suggestions on how to solve a problem 🙂 My little girl is getting to that age where it would be handy!

Comments are closed.